Brand new Macbook Pro not working - system problem!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by jbrown, Jun 21, 2012.

  1. jbrown macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #1
    I bought a new MBP top of the range.

    I wiped the hard drive and partitioned it into two.

    I then Carbon Copy Cloned ( latest version ) both my partitions from my old MBP onto the new ones. One had an up to date Lion OS, the other Snow Leopard.

    New the new MBP won't boot - instead of the Apple on start-up I get the circle with a line though it indicating it can't find a system on the hard disk.

    Any ideas how to get it working??

    I've upgraded this way before, with no problems.

    cheers

    :)
     
  2. j1999t macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Location:
    Colorado
    #2
    The issue is the fact that your old partition had Snow leopard, and by cloning the drive onto the new computer, you have installed an incompatible operating system on a mac that requires Lion as the minimum operating system. You are better off installing lion and transferring your files and settings with migration assistant
     
  3. jbrown thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #3
    Thanks for getting back.

    As far as I know - the new MBPs will run Snow Leopard OK.

    Anyway - that probably isn't the issue, as I said I have 2 partitions - one with the latest Lion and one with SN.

    It's not recognising either.

    If I had to install from fresh - how can I do that when I have no physical discs.

    Many thanks
     
  4. j1999t macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Location:
    Colorado
    #4
    search in google, "create lion usb install drive" and follow the directions
     
  5. DHagan4755 macrumors 6502a

    DHagan4755

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #5
    Snow leopard is probably not compatible with the new MacBook pro because there aren't any drivers for ivy bridge chipset or the new nvidia graphics.
     
  6. Puevlo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    #6
    CPUs don't need drivers of course.
     
  7. jbrown thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #7
    Still having trouble here - the new MBP doesn't seem able to boot from any disc.

    I have a recovery USB ( which works on my old MBP ) - and I still get the 'no system' ( circle with a line through it ) symbol. :(:mad:
     
  8. doh123 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    #8
    the chipset isn't the CPU.
     
  9. tamvly macrumors 6502a

    tamvly

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    #9
    Suggest you use Lion recovery services. I also doubt that SL will run on the 2012 MBP. Looks like your stuck with Lion.

    Then use migration assistant to migrate apps/data from your old disk, assuming you have some form or external closure that would allow you to attach it to the laptop.
     
  10. jbrown thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
  11. Tombs macrumors regular

    Tombs

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Location:
    Sutton, Surrey England
    #11
    You should see a recovery drive when you hold down the alt key on boot up, if not you've done something weird. Get it back to an Apple store pronto. I can't understand why you'd not just transfer your files onto Lion though, its pretty good!
     
  12. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    Neither partition will be able to boot, when a new machine comes out with major changes ( new chipset, new gpu, whatever ) it will have a custom build of the OS that has all the drivers needed for new hardware, it won't be till next point release after at the earliest that the general release of OS will get those. This is always the case. Lots of people got hit by exact same thing last year when 2011 machines came out with it's custom build of snow leopard.
     
  13. jbrown thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
  14. iMacDragon macrumors 65816

    iMacDragon

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #14
    edit: Scrap what said before, just googled. To force internet recovery mode and not delete the drive it's apparently command-option-R at boot time.

    just go into that and reinstall lion to the lion partition. all data should be kept intact.
     
  15. jbrown thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
  16. atlasica macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #16
    Have the exact same issue...eager to find out how it works out for you!
     
  17. jbrown thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jbrown

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #17
    Well - it's sorted now - thanks to iMacdragon:).

    I had to reinstall Lion via Apple Servers ( Comm + Alt + R )

    Then go it to do Migration as before.
     

Share This Page