Brand New Macbook Pro Question

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ChrisBoven, Jun 5, 2007.

  1. ChrisBoven macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #1
    Hey I just picked up the new macbook pros released today. I love it! But is there a way to make the the expose keys (f8, f9, etc) work without fn, but also allow the brightness and volume keys to work without fn? Thanks!
     
  2. andresrw macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #2

    yes you can! go to the preferences and find the option!!! (i dont remember since my PB where stolen last year!!!)
     
  3. gavd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #3
    Actually, I don't think you can do this.
     
  4. JSmoove05 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    #4
    What verison of 15' did you get 2.2 or 2.4 also what screen did you get glossy or matte.
     
  5. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #5
    Actually, you can.
    Because F8, F9, among other keys were reserved for hardware options, you have to, in the Keyboard & Mouse preference, check the box "Use F1-F12 keys to control software features".

    After you select that, whenever you want to control brightness (F1,F2), sound (F3, F4, F5,), num lock (F6), mirrored/extended desktop (F7), keyboard backlight (F8, F9, F10), you have to use the Function (fn) key.
     
  6. gavd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    #6
    This supports what I was saying - the OP wants to use both Expose and alter brightness etc, without using the fn key. He's wanting to mix the hardware and software features which I didn't think you could do, and this is what you seem to be saying too?
     
  7. aaronw1986 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #7
    You are talking about having 2 actions mapped to one key, without any modifiers...how would this be possible?
     
  8. hanzoh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2005
    #8
    And how useless would it be to change the keyboard brightness everytime you use Exposé?
     
  9. 4np macrumors 6502a

    4np

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #9
    I just mapped Exposé to the corners of my screen (lower left and lower right). Much easier I think...
     
  10. keenkreations macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    #10
    I believe that would be the only way, since the buttons on the MPB share the function. Unless the OP wants to reword what they are saying to be more specific about what they are looking for, meaning if they also wanted remapped keys or something.
     
  11. powerocool macrumors 6502

    powerocool

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #11
    I think he wants to use F9 and F10 as expose (without using the Fn key, so you can do it with 1 hand), and also keep the rest (F1-F8) the way they are.

    I think you can do it this way:

    1. Go to Sys Pref -> Keyboard -> Check "Use F1-F12 to control software features..."
    2. Get Keyboard Maestro http://www.keyboardmaestro.com/main/
    3. Use Keyboard Maestro to map F1, F2 to brightness, F3-F5 to volume, etc...

    Not exactly perfect but close.
     
  12. krimb1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    #12
    Thanks a lot! Keyboard Maestro was exactly what I was looking for!
     
  13. r88my macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #13
    I see what you did there! ;)
     

Share This Page