Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hannahjsmith

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 3, 2008
Hi there! I am totally new to MP3 players in general and am trying to get my head around what I would need. I would like to buy the iPod Shuffle (from the apple website). What else would I need to buy with it e.g. for charging etc? Do I need the docking station too? Or can I just charge it from the computer and not need anything else?

I have read about needing Mac OS? What is this? Would I need to download it on my computer? I have Windows Vista Basic.

Can I download music from other sites apart from apple?

Thats probably it for now, but there might be more questions!

Many thanks for any assistance given.

Hannah

NotFound

macrumors 6502a
Nov 30, 2006
Welcome to civilization. :) The only thing you will need if you go with the Shuffle is iTunes on your computer. You can download that from Apple's website. Your iPod shuffle will charge directly from your computer so no need for anything else.

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
Hi there! I am totally new to MP3 players in general and am trying to get my head around what I would need. I would like to buy the iPod Shuffle (from the apple website). What else would I need to buy with it e.g. for charging etc? Do I need the docking station too? Or can I just charge it from the computer and not need anything else?

Just plug it into a USB port to charge.

I have read about needing Mac OS? What is this? Would I need to download it on my computer? I have Windows Vista Basic.

Mac OS is the operating system for Macintosh computers. You cannot download it. You can only use it (legally) on a Mac. You should be able to use Windows instead of Mac OS X.

As long as it's unencrypted MP3 or AAC. It cannot be encrypted Windows Media...

atluten

macrumors 6502
Mar 24, 2008