Bricked Apple TV 2

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by pdburstein, Jan 26, 2012.

  1. pdburstein macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    #1
    Purchases new Apple TV 2 in late January. Easily set up. Streamed video from iTunes fine. With Netflix was slow, kept buffering, even though same content through same wireless network worked flawlessly on iPad and iPhone in exact same location. Eventually stopped working, even after soft and hard reset. Returned to Best Buy and replaced. New unit started out fine, however, asked to update software and I did. Suddenly died after flawless streaming of Netflix. Have done all the resets, etc. Screen shows the usual menus, but curser will not advance and will not respond. Seems highly unlikely that two different units would have the same problem. Perplexing how user error would cause the unit to crash. Anyone have a solution or at very least, an explantation?
     
  2. cyclotron451 macrumors regular

    cyclotron451

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Location:
    Europe
    #2
    Hi, need a few more details to solve - or think about solving this!
    I have a few ATV's 1& 2 at home, have run the ATV1's hot enough to fry an egg yet they worked for many years.

    ATV2 hardly gets warm, so repeated component failure is unlikely in both your devices. Maybe you live near an agricutural facility ?- (they contribute many kilovolt plus noise spikes on the 120/220V mains which might degrade a tiny SMPSU as in the ATV)

    Did you upgrade to 4.4.4?

    Do you have a DECT/digital household mobile phone basestation plugged in near to the ATV or a gigabit ethernet Home mains wiring transmitter,
    does your ATV connect to an Apple router? at 2.4GHz or at 5GHz??

    Davey
     
  3. pdburstein thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    #3
    The Apple TV 2 is in a location without excessive heat. No wireless phone bases nearby. Using a surge protector.

    I did upgrade to the newest version of firmware, perhaps it is 4.4.4. When it was working, it displayed the version. Also, the signal strenth was 5 bars. Using the same location and wireless router (Lynksis dual N gigabyte) Netflix worked on other Apple devices i.e. iPhone 4S, iPad 2, without a hitch. The fact that the device is dead is what is baffling.
     
  4. hafr macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    #4
    You say it displays the menu, so it's hardly dead. On the other hand, it seems like the remote might be, or the infrared receiver... This might be a stupid question, but when you changed the ATV2, did you also get a brand new Apple remote?
     
  5. pdburstein thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    #5
    almost bricked Apple TV 2

    The replacement was a brand new unopened box. The remote is paired with the Apple TV. I also have a Harmony One Universal Remote. Both used to work and neither does now. The Apple TV light flickers when a button pushed. If I unplug the Apple TV, wait 10 minutes, the Apple logo appears, the ATV menu is displayed but neither remote moves the cursor nor responds to entering a command.
    Thanks
     
  6. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #6
    Strange that happened. You didn't try to jailbreak it or anything did you? If not, I'd give Apple a call (800-My-Apple). It's covered under a year's warranty, and they should ship you a new one to simply replace yours. :)
     
  7. btbrossard macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #7
    My parents installed a neon sign in their TV room that caused infrared remotes not to work. It was the most frustrating troubleshooting effort I ever went through.

    Have you tried using the remote app on an iOS device?
     
  8. pdburstein thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    #8
    Apple TV

    Did not jailbreak. No neon lights or other causes of interference with remote. When the Apple TV worked, both the Apple remote and the programmed Logitech Harmony One remote worked.
     
  9. btbrossard macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #9
    I would try to use the remote application on an iOS device.

    Your ATV may have paired itself to a remote other than the ones you are using. Ours did that a while back - the light on the front would flash when the remote was pressed, but nothing happened.

    Use your iPhone/iPod/iPad and it's remote app to go into the settings on the ATV and unpair any remotes.
     
  10. pdburstein thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    #10
    Several are listed in the App Store. Which one do you recommend?

    ----------

    Found Remote 2.2 at Apple Store.
     
  11. btbrossard macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Chicagoland
  12. pdburstein thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    #12
    Apple Remote

    I tried it and it worked. I unpaired my Apple TV remote and the Harmony One remote. Tried to re-pair them but it did not seem to work. Starting to get there!
     
  13. btbrossard macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #13
    I would just not pair any remotes - that way it will work with all ir signals it receives.

    Ours is not paired with a remote - we have two silver remotes and use both (for when one gets lost in the couch cushions).
     

Share This Page