Bricked Apple TV?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by chrisc23, Mar 16, 2011.

  1. chrisc23 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    #1
    Hi guys I tried to jailbreak my apple tv last night using season pass which has since cause the apple tv to not work. When I try to restore the apple tv on itunes it gets to just about the end of the bar along the top and then stops and does not go any further therefore not restoring it back to its factory settings. Can anybody help?
     
  2. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #2
    This happened to me when I jailbroke it. And also when I restored it back to factory to do the untethered GreenPois0n jailbreak. Basically, it's not going into full DRM mode. I solved it by trying many times. It'll go eventually.
     
  3. maturola macrumors 68040

    maturola

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #3
    I am not sure what is the "full DRM" mode you refers to, however I have seen this when you don't enter DFU mode correctly, make sure you are on DFU mode.
     
  4. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #4
    Whoops. I meant DFU. I had just written an iTunes server sharing post and had DRM on the brain :rolleyes:
     
  5. chrisc23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    #5
    I tried again with still no luck thats 3 times I've tried. Any solutions?
     
  6. blevins321 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB
    #6
    Which jailbreak method are you trying to use? PwnageTool or Greenpois0n?
     
  7. chrisc23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
  8. chrisc23 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    #8
    Update for anyone else with this problem. I just re downloaded itunes and installed it then ran the restore again and it work. :)
     
  9. OperatorAce macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    #9
    Try restoring without the power cable plugged in - basically just plug the USB cable in.
     

Share This Page