iPhone Bricked iPhone 4

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by colocoquillo, Oct 9, 2012.

  1. colocoquillo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #1
    Hi,

    First of all say hello to everyone, I'm new in your forum as a writer but definitely not as a reader. Second, I'm Spanish so I will try to make myself comprehensible.

    Let’s start with this: Just for the record, I have been dealing with jailbreaks and iPhone's, iPad's and Apple TV for 5 years now, so there is no need to explain to me differences between DFU, restore and PWND DFU. This is serious stuff, and everyone that thinks an iPhone can't be bricked... come and help cause I'm giving up. I have tried same steps several times all possible combinations on a MAC computer and WINDOWS PC, different cables, and results were practically the same

    I bought and iPhone on eBay, this iPhone was apparently with error 1600. But the truth was way more than that. I will tell you the Tools I have used so far and what was the result.

    - TinyUmbrella: It recognize a phone because it lets me kick out recovery, Which ends up in a white, then orange or sometimes red picture on screen and then goes black (ON, but black). It don’t let me save blobs because it doesn’t appear any phone on the list on the left hand side where the rest of the phones appear.

    Redsn0w: Tried all its versions, and if I try to boot tethered or any other options you can think of it gives an error .plist, which means no IOS founded. I this tool to put the phone in PWND DFU to try to restore a Custom 5.0.1 or a 4.3.5 created with redsn0w or iFaith to try preserve baseband.

    - iFaith: I can create the custom firmware’s and use it for PWND DFU mode as well.

    - fixrecovery43: It ends in an error trying to reboot the phone (this tell me that definitely it has no IOS installed)

    - iTunes: At first I tried to preserve the baseband, to do so I would need the SHSH blobs, so I used redsn0w to tell me the ECID and then used TinyUmbrella to manually enter an ECID and downloaded from Cydia servers 2 blobs for my phone 4.3.5 and 5.0.1. No matter how I try to restore it will give an error, if I try to restore without TSS servers on it gives 3194 and if I turn TSS servers on 1600 or 1601 or 1602. If I amend the hosts file to delete everything related with gs.apple.com to stop pointing Cydia or even apple servers it gives a 1600, 1601, 1602. If I try to simply just restore to the IOS 6.0 it gives 3194 and from the MAC sometimes it says something like that .ipsw is incompatible for that device (not exactly that but can’t remember the message).

    - iReb: phone ends in a white screen but that is it, when i try to restore it just gives same errors 3194 or 1600, 1601,1602

    No I managed to be able to put on PWND DFU mode, turn on TSS and use a custom 5.0.1 with blobs, and the result is phone with black lines over a white screen (like an old TV), 1600 on iTunes and redsn0w recognizes it as recovery mode, but cannot be kicked out recovery mode, it says device not recognised.

    I'm begging you help please please please....
     
  2. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #2
    well..

    No it isn't a brick yet
    read up some more, cause these are standard problems
    TSS server does not work anymore on 5+ firmware

    What does TU say on the main page which ios is installed?

    If you suspect 5.01, download 5.01 IPSW

    Create a NO_BB IPSW with redsn0w
    Now stitch the 5.01 blobs to the NO_BB IPSW creating a second custom firmware.

    With that and in pwn-DFU shift-restore in iTunes
     
  3. colocoquillo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #3
    Hey! thanks for help.

    I just got a problem now, if I have been messing around with the TU and the TSS i could guess that my hosts file now must be ********* so, have you got a copy paste example to leave virgin?

    As i said, is not that is suspect is on 5.0.1 is that the ECID tells me that was the last iOS jailbreaked on that phone. I guess it might be that one, but it has no iOS now, i want to make that clear because what you said "If you suspect 5.01, download 5.01 IPSW". It looks like the old owner, tried to install another firmware and just got stuck in the middle of the process.

    What version of Redsn0w do you want me to use to create this NO_BB custom firmware?
     
  4. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #4
    Use the latest redsn0w

    actually it doesn't really matter which was the last firmware, as you have blobs for 5.01

    what you can do for the host file is connect phone, open TU, go advanced, uncheck Set host to cydia and restart pc

    type in gs.apple.com
    it should take you to apple
     
  5. colocoquillo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #5
    Ok, will try it now, the Set host to cydia was always un checked by default.

    When you say it will take me to apple you mean not apple.com, you mean a web by apple that says something like:

    This page is just a placeholder. To publish your site, place your HTML and image files in the data directory.
    Be sure to name your main page "index.html" and it will become the default page for visitors.
    Additional resources
    Apple
    For the latest information about Apple Computer, Mac OS X Server, and other Apple server products, visit:
    BLA BLA BLA BLA BLA
     
  6. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
  7. colocoquillo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
  8. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
  9. colocoquillo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #9
    Download a clean iOS 5.0.1 from www.getios.com customize it with redsnow, then stictch the blobs for the 5.0.1 with redsnow put the iphone on PWND DFU opens itunes, shift + restore, choose the customized + stiched blobs ios 5.0.1...

    That is it..
     
  10. thelatinist macrumors 603

    thelatinist

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2009
    Location:
    Connecticut, USA
    #10
    Okay, I read through what you said there, but I can't quite figure out: have you tried just putting the phone in DFU mode and restoring to 6.0? If so, what was the result?
     
  11. colocoquillo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #11
    yes, i tried that in two different computer with different OS (mac and windows) two different cables and when i click on restore (simply restore not alt or shift) and then it asks me if i want to reestore an update (which makes me think itunes knows that phone is on a version below iOS 6.0 because normaly it will ask you if you want to reestore but nothing about update) and then as a result of that it gives 1600
     
  12. dhlizard, Oct 9, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2012

    dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #12
    Try downloading the 6.0 IPSW to the desktop, put the phone in DFU mode, then navigate to the IPSW on desktop, host file must be pointed to Apple. Make sure you have a good Internet connection.

    That will give you a clean base (choose set up as new, do not restore to any backup)

    Then if you have any 5.x.x hashes, you should be able to manage a stitched restore.

    If the phone will not accept a clean iOS6 restore, I tend to think it has some hardware issue.
     
  13. colocoquillo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #13
    he he he... that is actually what i have done, i tried both, first i tried to just click on restore and then let it download it (at 1.60 mb/s so it is a good broadband) and it did the same, and then i tried to download it manually from www.getios.com the iOS 6.0 and shift restore but it did the same... i do think is something else aswell, but that is why im contacting you guru's!!! i have got another iPhone 4 at home and i can try to change one motherboard for other and see if i can restore it that way. if i cant it gives same error, then it means it is a hardware problem on the motherboard, and if it doesent then it means i can be any other spare part but the motherboard.

    but.... before i do that... i prefer to try it the easy way... does anyone else have any other good and fresh idea about why could it be giving me 1600 error (always black screen, except when i do what i mentioned before, using the TU gives error 21 with iOS 4.3.5 with the blobs stitched and customized) that it looks like black and white old tv screen with no signal.

    dhlizard im doing all this processes like a new restore, no backups as this is a phone bought on ebay so there is no backups.
     
  14. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #14
    Error 21 means your not in DFU

    you can also try to restore to 4.3.5

    Open TU and set host to cydia, restart pc

    download 4.3.5

    make a NO_BB custom IPSW

    no need to stitch with 4+ firmware
    Put it in DFU or pwn-DFU and shift-restore in itunes.
     
  15. colocoquillo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #15
    TriJetHero So just to be clear, I don’t need blobs for 4.3.5????????? I just need it to be customized??? how can this be? everyone would be able then to do a downgrade.... why do I need it customize? as far as I know customize would just preserve the baseband, but 4.3.3 would not upgrade my baseband and so then it means I should be able to do it as normal.... are you sure about this???:confused:

    I’m pretty sure I was on DFU mode, in fact PWND DFU mode and it was still giving me error 21.... but it is ok, I can try that.... again :) In fact, the problem I’m having is that there is no escape to this DFU (normal mode)... screen is always black and recognized by iTunes as an iPhone on DFU mode, and still that it gives error 21...
     
  16. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #16
    To restore to 4.3.5 you do need blobs, which you said you have, you just don't need to stitch them to the IPSW.

    Make sure you host is pointing to cydia for that, that is where the shsh is requested from.

    From the iphonewiki:

    Error 21
    Custom firmware restore fail (PwnageTool since 4.1). You have to put your device into the DFU mode and not into recovery mode. Device won't boot correctly an stuck at the Apple logo after the error. Press and hold power and home button until it reboots.
    Error when using Sauriks server for a restore with iOS 5.x in the recovery mode at least on a A5 device.
    This error can also happen when you try to restore an iPod with hardware dfu. Use iREB r5 to solve this.
    You are trying to update to a beta firmware without UDID activation.
     
  17. colocoquillo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #17
    Ok!

    Thanks, this is what i will do, tell me if I am missing something:

    1. donwload clear iOS 4.3.5
    2. use redsn0w to customize it
    3. point gs.apple.com to cydia with the hosts file (not TU, just modified the ip address to point to gs.apple with surik's server)
    4. use redsnow to PWND DFU mode the iphone 4
    5. Open itunes Shift + restore 4.3.5 customized previously
     
  18. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
  19. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #19
    Not that I have anything negative to say about your source for IPSW, but I always recommend everyone get their firmware/IPSW's from the iPhone Wiki :D

    http://theiphonewiki.com/wiki/index.php?title=Firmware
     
  20. colocoquillo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #20
    well, it looks better to me but still not there... does anyone knows what it mean " the iphone "xxx" could not be restored. This Device Isn't Eligible For The Request Build"
     
  21. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #21
    are you sure you have blobs for 4.3.5?

    you can check with redsn0w, Extras/SHSH blobs/verify
     
  22. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #22
    Wrong, incomplete or missing hashes, host file pointing to wrong source or phone not in pwnedDFU or DFU (depending on which is needed)

    This seems to be operator error.

    iClarified.com has many good picture tutorials
     
  23. colocoquillo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #23
    what do you mean with incomplete hashes? hostfile is pointing to cydia as TriJetHero suggested (when i write gs.apple.com on the browser it goes to cydia). Is not possible to do not be on DFU because im stuck on DFU mode and i know is pwned dfu because redsnow say it is....

    ----------

    hey guys... i think i know what is the problem... when i click on redsn0w to do it pwnd dfu i think it simply dont do it... even if it says it is... can you tell me any other tool for mac to do this that works 100%
     
  24. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
  25. colocoquillo thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2012
    #25
    snowbreeze is for windows as far as i know....
     

Share This Page