iPod touch Bricked.

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by mrmaker, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. mrmaker, Dec 28, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2012

    mrmaker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #1
    hi,
    i got a iPod for christmas and, well i've ball'sed it up.
    i instantly went and jailbroke it on iOS 6.0.1 with redsn0w, after 1 day i got sick of it being tethered and i downloaded 5.1.1 and used redsn0w to install it and this came up:
    ERROR! Please perform clean slide to power off and try again.

    so now im pretty much bricked and i cant restore it due to "error 1600, error 11, error 2002" i've tried with tiny umbrella to get the shsh blobs, i've tried to just restore it normaly and nothing is working.

    im a noob at iOS since ive only ever had a ipod touch.
    any help would be brilliant!
    Thanks:)
     
  2. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #2
    you can't downgrade unless you have proper blobs for it,

    put it in DFU an restore it in itunes
     
  3. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #3
    It is not bricked :rolleyes: , but you can only restore to current firmware since you have no 5.x.x SHSH saved.
     
  4. Pwn iOS macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    #4
    Put it in DFU mode and shift restore with 6.0.11 And you are set to go! For more questions email JoshuaMicheal@me.com! Hope I helped you! Happy holidays!!!
     
  5. mrmaker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #5
    Clicking restore brings up error 1602, using tiny umbrella and iPod4,1_6.0.1_10A523_Restore.ipsw with saved blobs from redsn0w from the apple server's gets error 1600 as well as a message saying "this device can preform faster if you connect it to a high speed usb 2.0 port."
     
  6. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #6
    Only iTunes should be open
    Close Redsn0w and TinyUmbrella

    Connect the cable directly to your computer, not a hub
    Try a different port or cable if possible
    Or try a different computer
     
  7. mrmaker, Dec 29, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2012

    mrmaker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #7
    tried on different ports on my windows laptop and got 1602 and "device could run faster", on my hackintosh i get error 1601. :(

    i think i might just go to a genius bar, or go get a replacement.
     
  8. spyguy10709 macrumors 6502a

    spyguy10709

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    One Infinite Loop, Cupertino CA
    #8
    Wow you gave up quickly --- google what those errors mean. It's what you get when you attempt to downgrade your iOS device. Quit all your redsn0w, tiny umbrella etc apps and restart your computer. Then plug your device into itunes. Don't open anything else up. Then restore it.
     
  9. labman macrumors 604

    labman

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Mich near Detroit
    #9
    might be a tough exchanging a jailbroken device ;) not impossible but most geniuses will quickly turn you away, JB technically voids the warranty of course restoring removes the jb. search error 1600 or 1602 tons of threads and youtube videos on how to fix it.
     
  10. mrmaker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #10
    its just that the iPod is completely lifeless, its had a constant black screen for ages now.
    im gonna try and restore it now.
     
  11. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #11
    Are you sure it is not a bad battery (charge on wall socket overnight) or a hardware failure ?
     
  12. mrmaker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #12
    well, i did get a slight bit of life when i tried 5.1.1 before, as in "downloading jailbreak data" and the lines of code. but there is no apple logo ever. :confused:

    anyway after restart with no apps open, i still get 1602. and the error page from apple just says try again.
    http://support.apple.com/kb/TS3694#error1602
     
  13. mrmaker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #13
    ive put it into pwned dfu, and removed the hash's from the host file and its looking pretty promising.:)

    5 seconds after i posted this, error 1601 :mad:
     
  14. lokster macrumors 6502

    lokster

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    #14
    set the ipod in DFU mode FIRST THEN plug it to your computer and open itunes and it should say that the ipod is in recovery mode. then restore. it should work this way.
     
  15. mrmaker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #15
    for some reason, i can't put it in dfu mode when not pluged into the computer?
    :confused:
    edit: in-fact i can't get it in dfu mode at all?
     
  16. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #16
    to make sure

    DFU-mode is a completly black screen and itunes saying it found a ipod in rcovery mode(which it isn't)

    on your windows machine type in gs.apple.com in your browser
    it should take you to an generic apple page

    if it takes you to cydia your host file is still pointing to cydia

    after editing the host file on windows you need to restart the computer

    you don't need to do anything with blobs if you want to restore to 6.01 as that is the currently signed firmware by apple


    Download fresh 6.01 IPSW from here:
    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=757
    make sure your host file is pointing to apple
    put it in DFU; connect USB, hold home and power until it turns off, keep holding both for 3 more seconds, release power while holding home for another 10 seconds, black screen

    now hit SHIFT-restore in itunes and select your downloaded IPSW
     
  17. mrmaker, Dec 30, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2012

    mrmaker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #17
    gs.apple.com brings up:


    This page is just a placeholder. To publish your site, place your HTML and image files in the data directory.

    Be sure to name your main page "index.html" and it will become the default page for visitors.


    Additional resources... blah blah blah


    same results as before, god this is annoying :(
     
  18. darricksailo macrumors 601

    darricksailo

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    #18
    Copy and paste how your host file looks like and list the exact steps you've done (in detail would help)
     
  19. mrmaker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #19
    Host File:
    # Copyright (c) 1993-2009 Microsoft Corp.
    #
    # This is a sample HOSTS file used by Microsoft TCP/IP for Windows.
    #
    # This file contains the mappings of IP addresses to host names. Each
    # entry should be kept on an individual line. The IP address should
    # be placed in the first column followed by the corresponding host name.
    # The IP address and the host name should be separated by at least one
    # space.
    #
    # Additionally, comments (such as these) may be inserted on individual
    # lines or following the machine name denoted by a '#' symbol.
    #
    # For example:
    #
    # 102.54.94.97 rhino.acme.com # source server
    # 38.25.63.10 x.acme.com # x client host

    # localhost name resolution is handled within DNS itself.
    # 127.0.0.1 localhost
    # ::1 localhost
    #74.208.10.249 gs.apple.com
    #127.0.0.1 gs.apple.com


    what i have tried:
    1. extracting shsh blobs in tiny umbrella (did not work, device not detected)
    2. restoring normally on both mac and pc (numerous errors 1600-1604)
    3.restoring in PWNED DFU (didn't work, error 1601)
    4.hashing out gs.apple.com (didn't work, error 1602)
    5. im going to try restoring a custom ipsw using blobs from redsn0w and the custom ipsw from sn0wbreeze.
     
  20. mrmaker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #20
    nope error 1601 , i cant think of anything else that could go wrong.
     
  21. mrmaker thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #21
    Fixed (well, kind of.)

    Took it back, and got it replaced! :p
     

Share This Page