Bricked?!?!

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by w0nker, Jul 2, 2009.

  1. w0nker macrumors member

    w0nker

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #1
    I installed a "borrowed" copy of 3.1. Tried to restore and now it says I need to register my iphone with the dev center. Any way of fixing this?
     
  2. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #2
    Thanks for letting us know NOT to install 3.1. As stated in previous threads, one should not install 3.1 "if you are not a REGISTERED developer. We need that HELP thread right about NOW or is BRICKED = HELP?.....:eek::eek::eek:
     
  3. w0nker thread starter macrumors member

    w0nker

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #3
    Yes, I would like help fixing this issue please.
     
  4. moka macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 3_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/528.18 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile/7A341 Safari/528.16)

    DFU Restore?
     
  5. w0nker thread starter macrumors member

    w0nker

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #5
    Not sure how to do that. Kinda new to this and really stupid for doing it.
     
  6. 5DollaFootlong macrumors 6502

    5DollaFootlong

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    #6
    my friend had the same issue. what he did is jailbreak the iphone again with 2.2.0 software. from the jailed 2.0 iphone, he was able to restore it to factory settings. pwnage tool should do da trick
     
  7. samcraig macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #7
    It baffles me that someone who is not a developer would "borrow" someone's without understanding it's potential "side effects"

    It baffles me more that you're "new" and would do this.
     
  8. w0nker thread starter macrumors member

    w0nker

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
  9. w0nker thread starter macrumors member

    w0nker

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
  10. svndmvn Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Italy
    #10
    try restoring it to that firmware again, but disconnecting itunes and your mac from the internet, a bit more complex if you're on a PC, used to work for someone with 3.0 Beta
    Let us know if it works:)
    If not, you'd have to register you ICID to some Dev account, as you already know, or jailbreak 2.2 and restore to 3.0 as someone already said
     
  11. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #11
    I seriously doubt that non-developers still won't install it. The sure way to get some people to do something is to tell them not to do it.
     
  12. samcraig macrumors P6

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2009
    #12
    if ALL else fails, join as a dev $99 will set you free :)
     
  13. SFStateStudent macrumors 604

    SFStateStudent

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco California, USA
    #13
  14. w0nker thread starter macrumors member

    w0nker

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #14
    It won't go into DFU mode. If I hold it down 10 secs, it shuts down. Can't Quickpwn, won't recognize 3.1. If I join dev, it may take up to 24 hours. Want it fixed tonight if possible. Any more suggestions?
     
  15. kalex macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    #15
    when iphone is in DFU mode the screen is suppose to be off. there is no indication on the screen when its in DFU mode.

    if you want visual guide and screen shots, download PwnageTool and click on DFU icon when it starts. it will guide you through it.
     
  16. Stunod7 macrumors member

    Stunod7

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    #16
    I had someone at work do this with the 3.0 when it started hitting the streets.

    I lolled so hard when he shelled out the $99 to be a "developer" and still couldn't get it to work.
     
  17. aristotle macrumors 68000

    aristotle

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #17
    You are doing it wrong. You hold down the power and home button about 10 seconds and then let of of the power button but keep on holding on to the home button.

    http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=1034
     
  18. scootaru macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Location:
    Columbus, OH
    #18

Share This Page