Bridge CS3 - Batch Save as?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by MBX, Dec 12, 2007.

  1. MBX macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #1
    Anybody know if there is a batch save as option in bridge?

    i have 20 .psd files that i really don't want to manually all export as tiffs from photoshop. And i can't find any batch option other than "batch rename" (but that's not it) or under tools where the closest i could find is to save as pdf.

    How come it's not a little more straight forward or if there's no such option at all it's a big bummer, because come on, it's the 21st century and one might believe cs3 would have this option.

    And if not, anybody know a way to do it with automator (batch convert or save .psd files as tiff files)?

    Help apperciated
     
  2. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #2
    Do your batches from Photoshop. Set up your action and then File>Automate>Batch.

    It's pretty straightforward if you read the 'Help' menu. ;)

    Here's a good how-to link.
     
  3. MBX thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #3
    thanks, but i've been in that file-automate batch section. i don't think it's so straight forward at all! because i can't see how to make it batch save as tiff at all...

    let me know if i'm missing someting but even in the link you provided in the screenshot there's only .gif and no other formats available, other than pdf in a dropdown menu above.
     
  4. Blue Velvet Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #4
    You are completely missing something. You have to create an action first, as stated in the link I gave you.

    A ten second search of this forum reveals many relevant threads, including this one.
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=259833

    Don't criticise a piece of software until you know what you're doing. ;)
     
  5. nater. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    #5
    You can actually do this through Bridge as well without creating an action.

    You need to have Photoshop and Bridge open. Then in Bridge go to Tools / Photoshop / Image Processor. A window comes up and you can pick location, file type (jpeg, psd, tiff), and even run an action through it.

    Hope that helps too. But Blue Velvet is correct as well. That's the beauty of these programs....so many options.
     
  6. MBX thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    #6
    this is so strange. i did the image processor through bridge yesterday and the dialog window that came up looked totally different and didn't have these options. but now it works.

    thanks again
     
  7. buffie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    #7
    buffie

    if anyone read what was written here, just please disregard for now - still learning...guess I was in Bridge and now in Photoshop those things are showing up as they should...thank goodness.
     

Share This Page