Bridge CS3 Mac - Slow!

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jonkemerer, Mar 29, 2008.

  1. jonkemerer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #1
    Hiya:

    Upgraded to CS3 earlier this year, and the first thing I noticed is how unsnappy Bridge CS3 for Mac is. Prior to that, I had CS2 for Windows. Scrolling through files is very "sticky". It gets worse as I increase the thumbnail size. At first I attributed it to the fact I'm running it on a Mac Mini (1.83 C2D, 2GB Ram). Not so, I installed WinXP via Bootcamp and also installed the CS3 trial for Windows. Bridge CS3 FLIES on Windows. There's absolutely no stickiness, it scrolls through thumbnails of any size smooth and fast, like it should.

    I upgraded the Mini's HD to a 7200K Hitachi thinking it was that, but not so. Bridge CS3 for Mac is running like a dog, and it's getting frustrating since the Windows version is so much faster.

    I was wondering, is there anyone else who has noticed this?
     
  2. MacsAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #2
    Can't say I've had any problems. Of course I'm pushing it around on a quad 3GHz Mac Pro with 4GB of memory. However, my 2GHz MacBook with 2GB memory runs it fine too (close to your Mini - some minor differences in CPU and chipset though).

    You have installed the Bridge update for OS X (Version 2.1.1.9 is the version I have)?

    Got all the latest OS X updates? Running Tiger (I'm using Leopard)?
     
  3. jonkemerer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #3
    Hi MacsAttack, thanks very much for your reply. I'm running the latest version of Bridge, and the latest version of Leopard.

    It's interesting to know your MacBook is running it fine. Is that the Late '07 model with the X3100 graphics chip or prior to that? I'm starting to wonder if it's the GMA950 holding it back, other than the CPU as you mentioned those are the two biggest factors that would have an impact on this. Still, I'm not sure why the Windows version would run so much faster on the same hardware? I mean, it's a huge difference, night and day.
     
  4. MacsAttack macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Location:
    Scotland
    #4
    My MacBook is a late '06 model. It has the GMA950 graphics (which is why I didn't suggest it as a problem - it was surprisingly good for an integrated solution and I don't play games these days because I don't have the time and all that gets published is the same repetitive pap that was only new and interesting a decade or more ago). I got it just after Apple upgraded to using the Merom version of the Core 2 Duo CPU (I was holding off for 64-bit code execution capability - though nowhere near 4GB of memory can be installed there are some other long term benefits as Leopard introduced 64-bitishness and that is the "future"). I think the Mini only got 64-bit capable CPU in August 07. That is the most significant difference I can think of - and I would be surprised if it made that much difference.

    Another factor is the nature of the files you are trying to display in bridge. Primarily I have folders with 30 to 60 Illustrator and PDF files (0.5 to 3 MB in size) and a few with mixed jpg, Tiff, and Photoshop files (about a hundred running up to 60 MB range). Possibly there is some file size/file number threshold that you have hit and I have not?

    I only really use Bridge when working on Illustrator projects - it helps keep things organized and the metadata and labels are handy to track states (First Draft-Review->Final Draft->To Press->Published). I'e had it fold on me once (not long after upgrading to CS3) and there is a curious bug wherein a white box is left on the desktop after minimizing Bridge sometimes.
     
  5. jonkemerer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #5
    Hi again, thanks for your reply. This got me down to thinking, the MacBook has a native resolution of 1280x800. The resolution I'm using is 1920x1200. I set the resolution of my Mini to that of your MacBook, and wouldn't you know, it (almost) fixes the problem! It sticks a little bit, but nowhere near as bad as before... but still the Windows version doesn't slow down at all.

    I did a bit more research last night and apparently, Bridge CS3 is optimized to take advantage of the GPU more so than ever. This is new to me, but with the performance issues I'm having on my Mini, it kinda makes sense? From what I gather, OS X and the GMA950 has a 64MB "cap" on the VRam it can suck from the system memory, whereas on Windows it can suck 224MB from it. I don't know how true that is, but it makes me wonder how I can remove this so-called cap. Hmmm...

    At least I know where the problem lies now and can go from there. Thanks for your insight,


    - Jon K.
     
  6. daveye macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    #6
    slow bridge cs3

    i have a problem with bridge cs3 running slow too and I am running the latest 8 core 3.2 with 32 gig of ram a raid 5 with 4 15000 rpm drives and a 5th 7200 rpm drive in one of the optical bays, I dont think they make them faster or more powerful and my bridge is very sticky and slow.
     

Share This Page