Bringing an iPhone 3GS from Israel to USA

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by davids718, Jun 22, 2011.

1. davids718 macrumors newbie

Hi, this is my first time on this forum and I would really appreciate some help.

I have been spending time in Israel and purchased an iPhone 3GS over there with cellcom carrier. I do not know if it is unlocked, can i find out before I arrive to the US? Also how would I go about using it in the US whether it is or isn't locked. Basically, what are my options? I will use ATT as a carrier in the US and hope I am not locked out of any services like 3G, or from being able to install new versions as they come out. Lastly does anyone know if Apple in the US will cover the warranty for the phone purchased in Israel?

Thanks in advance!!
    :D

2. Epic Orange macrumors member

Epic Orange

For unlocking, can you please give information about iOS version and baseband number. To find these, go to Settings > General > About

Look for the Version Number and Modem Firmware.

This is important in seeing if you can unlock to make this work in U.S.

However, please be warned. You do not want to bring a 3GS being unlock to the Apple Store, because unlocking requires jailbreaking, which voids you warranty anyway [In the end, do not expect help]. However, if there is any hardware issues, I would suggest to restore and give it to Apple for help.

3. hackthatphone macrumors 68000

hackthatphone

If you expect to use data you'll be signing a contract with att. Otherwise if you don't care about data you can walk into an att store ask for a sim and they'll set you up as pre paid.

4. ya1950 macrumors regular

Check with Cellcom. I believe they are required to unlock it for a fee if you ask. This might be the best solution for you.

5. Epic Orange macrumors member

Epic Orange