Bringing an iPhone oversea

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by aaronchow, Oct 17, 2010.

  1. aaronchow macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    #1
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    I'm loaning my iPhone to my wife when she travels oversea later this month. I don't want her to access the web via WiFi only. So is turning cellular data and 3G enough?
     
  2. aaronchow thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    #2
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8B117 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Should I also turn off FaceTime and all notifications? And should I purchase a few international data roaming just in case?
     
  3. SAD*FACED*CLOWN macrumors 65816

    SAD*FACED*CLOWN

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #3
    Sheesh...why not just relegate her to airplane mode?
     
  4. aaronchow thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A400 Safari/6531.22.7)

    But she will get a prepaid sim (voice only, micro-sim) to use as a regular cell phone. Any suggestion? I dont want any big bills from AT&T
     
  5. aeromac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    #5
    Well the moment you take the at&t sim out, you won't be charged any bills from at&t :)

    The voice only micro sim also will not be enable to download anything there since it's voice only.. whichever country she's going, it could be very cheap to get a prepaid sim with data plan though.. I remember you can get a prepaid line from Wind IT for example and it was just +9€ for 1gb internet..
     
  6. old-wiz macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Location:
    West Suburban Boston Ma
    #6
    Unless you have jailbroken/unlocked the iPhone, it won't work on other carriers.
     
  7. aaronchow thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    #7
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_0_2 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0.5 Mobile/8A400 Safari/6531.22.7)

    Great. Problem solved Thank you all.
     
  8. bukzin macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    #8
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

    So which options did you/her take?

    Let us know how it went and what it cost.

    Thanks!
     
  9. Mliii macrumors 65816

    Mliii

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Location:
    Southern California
    #9
    FaceTime is wifi only. I don't see a need to turn that off.
     

Share This Page