bringing my old pb g4 back to life.

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by hypermaster, Jun 25, 2008.

  1. hypermaster macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    #1
    i finally removed my old pb g4 frm some old top shelf,as i needed a basic laptop in my office.

    specs....
    pb g4 1.1ghz
    256mb ram
    15''
    60gb
    battery is ****..need to remove the battery and plug in to the mains for it to start up
    no wifi
    bluetooth is working
    running 10.3.9

    my problem.....
    i have a dlink pcmcia wifi card..it detects it and an icon appears but cant start the card

    i have a dlink usb wifi as well..it does not even powerup in either of the usb's.

    my 1gb pendrive works, but 8gb does not even power up.


    what i intend on doing....
    upgrading ram to max

    getting wifi working with pcmcia or usb

    upgrading os

    running windows xp


    my questions/help needed......
    1.can i upgrade to leopard?
    2. where can i get drivers for dlink pcmcia wifi card
    3.can i run windows xp..how fast will it be [i use vmware
    on my mb with 2gb and its perfect]
    4. can anyone suggest the cheapest online place to buy a replacement battery.

    i am ready to experiment with any new software /method...i got nithing to lose....

    any suggestions / experimentations will do...
    thanks in advance
     
  2. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #2
    Sell it for $400 and buy a refurbed MB for $949. The money that you are going to spend on RAM, WiFi, OS and such will almost equal that of a new MB.

    Save yourself the headache and get a computer that will last.
     
  3. dtklamf macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    #3
    yeah.but sometime going from powerbook to macbook is like chalk and cheese.
    i'm considering going back to the powerbook actually.
     
  4. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #4
    How do you mean?
     
  5. motulist macrumors 68040

    motulist

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    #5
    I have to admit that I feel kinda pissed at the thread. A 1 ghz powerbook is my main machine, not some backup just for fun project! :mad: :p ;)
     
  6. Klaxons2012 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #6
    I'm an old Powerbook G4 head and let me tell you, for the tasks you're about to undergo, you might as well get the macbook. You're going to be pouring a few hundred into a machine you'll eventually have to replace anyway. Unless you don't have the extra money to buy new or refurb at the moment, I think it would be wise to just buy the Macbook.

    The resolution is so good on the Macbook, you won't feel like you got suckered into a cheap machine.
     
  7. soberbrain macrumors 65816

    soberbrain

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #7
    Running XP (VirtualPC) on a 1.25 Ghz / 1.5 GB / Powerbook G4 was too slow for me.

    I would also suggest getting a refurb MacBook
     
  8. InLikeALion macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Location:
    Greener places than I used to live
    #8
    UM, you can't (natively) run windows on a powerbook as it uses powerpc chips, not intel. No chance unless maybe you buy an old copy of microsoft virtual pc for mac someware. But I have a feeling that would be almost prohibitively slow on your machine.
     
  9. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #9
    Boooooyaaaahhhhhhhhh!
     
  10. Deej macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    I *really* wouldn't run Windows XP under Virtual PC - it's so slow it's almost unuseable.

    It's not like Parallels / VMWare on Intel Macs which is a virtualisation layer. Virtual PC is an emulator, which means that it has to translate everything for the G4 CPU, which is why it's so slow.
     
  11. operator207 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    #12
    +1 to this, though he will need a battery too, that just about puts him in the range, if not past it.

    OP: Get a MB, even if its refurb, you will have so much more than that PB will give you. I have a PB 1.67 it has a bad logic board. I was going to replace the board, but it will cost almost as much as a refurb MB. You have just about as much to spend to get that thing ready as I do.
     

Share This Page