Broadcast router from another router

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Yizi, Aug 24, 2009.

  1. Yizi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    Hi,

    Is is possible to broadcast another routers internet using another router. e.g. i have a router downstairs and it is not strong enough to broadcast to upstairs is it possible to plug another router in mid way and broadcast the same wireless using the second router?
     
  2. belvdr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    #2
    With certain routers, yes it is possible. It is called WDS.
     
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    Actually that's called repeating. ;)

    And yes it's possible.

    WDS is something else.
     
  4. Yizi thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  5. RandomKamikaze macrumors 6502a

    RandomKamikaze

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    Instructions will vary from manufacturer to manufacturer
     

Share This Page