Broadcasting internet from iMac to iPad?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Learjet035, Apr 3, 2010.

  1. Learjet035 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    S. Floriduh
    #1
    Hey all, my Mom just scored an iPad but doesn't have wifi at home.

    She has a 4-5 year old iMac. Can it push out a wifi signal through airport?

    I went into sys prefs/ sharing/selected "internet sharing" from airport
    but then my choices are from airport to ethernet or firewire no other option. What am I missing here?

    Hope I don't have to go buy her a router.

    Thank you!!
     
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
  3. 2contagious macrumors 6502a

    2contagious

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    Try clicking on the Airport symbol in the top menu bar and select "Create Network". Then select the wifi network you created on your iPad.
     
  4. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #4
    mirror these settings and you will be right :)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. yoyo5280 macrumors 68000

    yoyo5280

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia & Bay Area
  6. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #6
    well.. yea :p thats a given
     
  7. Learjet035 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    S. Floriduh
    #7
    Awesome!

    Thanks so much! Is there a way to password protect so the neighbors don't scam?

    Thanks
     
  8. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #8
    see the "airport options" in the screen shot?? click that ;)
     
  9. Matt* macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    #9
    No WPA?

    But that option seems to only work with WEP, not WPA?

    Bit of background: I'm in the UK, would love an iPad, but my university doesn't allow us to use routers (makes sense really) and I'm already paying for my iPhone, so I don't really want another 3G contract. Is there any way I can set up a secure ad hoc network?
     
  10. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    well technically, no wireless is secure ;)

    using that method won't let you connect securely.. and no method i can think of will let you either, but the signal from the computer will struggle to reach 10m away.. i think its pretty safe lol.
     
  11. Learjet035 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Location:
    S. Floriduh
    #11
    Thanks again for the great advice.

    My Ma is now wireless with her new iPad and loving it.
    She's not very computer savvy but through the magic of iChat and
    screenshare and your help she's good to go!
     
  12. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #12
    aaahhh excellent news! how does she like the iPad? (apart from loving it haha). any bad things to say about it>?
     

Share This Page