Browse different windows panel

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by sphuyal, Jul 31, 2009.

  1. sphuyal macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #1
    Hi,

    I don´t know how to browse/bring up again different sub-panels (small windows) of a program.

    I mean...lets say i have safari open. then i click on preferences and a window pops-up. but if i click on safari main window again, the preferences panel runs in background and i have to minimize the safari browser to view it. Is there a way to view such different sub-panels without having to minimize the window??

    PS! i know abt cmd+shift+tab thing
     
  2. geoffreak macrumors 68020

    geoffreak

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    #2
    I don't quite understand what you are asking, but here are a few tips:

    Command + ` (tilde, above Tab) - switch between windows of the current application.
    Command + Tab - switch between open (non-minimized) windows of all appliations (adding shift will reverse the order of program navigation)
    Command + H - hide the current application and all of its windows (allows it to be still accessible by Command + Tab)

    Also, clicking an icon in the dock will bring up an application's windows to the front of the screen.
     
  3. sphuyal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #3
    This command is not working for me. I know about other commands.

    Let me make clear by an example: I have safari (or anyother app) open then i go to preferences (or tools or view or whatsoever) from the menu bar of the open app. then a window pops-up where you can change the settings. Sometimes i just want to switch between different windows to make changes. So if i have larger window open than the small window (like the pref. panel), the smaller window is not accessible until i minimize all the larger windows.

    SO i want to know if there is any cmd or way to do tat
     
  4. decksnap macrumors 68040

    decksnap

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    #4
    Yes. what he says works: command+`

    Alternately just press the expose shortcut for 'show all app windows'
     
  5. MWPULSE macrumors 6502a

    MWPULSE

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #5
    which can be user-set by default its f9 i think :) tis under expose/spaces preference menu

    PTP
     
  6. sphuyal thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    #6
    thanks guys...yes the cmd+` works... the button was on the other side of my mac than what geoffreak said...
     

Share This Page