Browser based VOIP work on Iphone ?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by usvi4me, Jul 2, 2007.

  1. usvi4me macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Trinidad, West Indies - soon St. Thomas USVI
    #1
  2. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #2
    Well, they specifically mention using Internet Eplorer, so I assume it uses ActiveX, and thus is incompatible with Safari, therefore incompatible with iPhone
     
  3. jstennis1591 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #3
    once flash support is added to mobile safari, I guess that there's a chance that gizmocall might work

    but I could be wrong
     
  4. aria505 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    #4
    The browser would also have to see the iPhone as having a mic, which I doubt Apple built that ability into it. The mic probably only works during a phone call.
     
  5. usvi4me thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2006
    Location:
    Trinidad, West Indies - soon St. Thomas USVI
    #5
    voip for iphone app found

    JAJAH is the alternative to expensive AT&T long distance / global calls.

    http://blog.jajah.com/
     
  6. Mikemomac macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    #6
    jajah? anyone using jajah on iphone? if so,do you like it?

    jajah? anyone using jajah on iphone? if so,do you like it?
     
  7. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #7
    At present, it is impossible to play audio, or input audio, in a web page on the iPhone. You can play a linked audio/video file, as long as it is embedded in a .mov or .mp4 container, but that is simply doing playback, not even 'interactive' playback. (It's more like the way HD trailers play from Apple's website. It loads QuickTime Player, they don't play in-browser.)

    And as far as I can tell, there is *NO* capability to input audio.

    If we get Flash or Java in an update, then you could do it. But not now.
     

Share This Page