Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

oldschool

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Sep 30, 2003
What do you guys use for your browsers? I just use safari. I'm new to osx, and I keep hearing mozilla and opera. What are these and what is the point of using other ones?

ColoJohnBoy

macrumors 65816
Mar 10, 2003
Denver, Colorado
I use Safari and Netscape Navigator. Safari works on most every site out there, but ocassionally I'll run across one that isn't. I open it with Navigator, send a bug report to Apple. If there's anything Apple can do about making the site Safari-compatible, they do it, and usually within a few days.

advres

Oct 3, 2003
Boston
i usually use safari but have some problems with ebay. sometime i have to erase my ebay cookies... shut down safari... then open it again and it will work fine. i used opera for a while and i didn't like the way it opened pages.

even with the kinks still in it i have found safari to be my best choice as of recent.

mrjamin

macrumors 65816
Feb 6, 2003
Strongbadia
Originally posted by tazo
Firebird, always, on every platform; cept linux where I use Mozilla :)

ditto - firebird's a little on the slow side but that should change when we hit 0.7 (any day now). Not tried any recently nightlies.

idea_hamster

macrumors 65816
Jul 11, 2003
NYC, or thereabouts
Mozilla is the free open-source project that formed the basis for the Netscape browser.

Opera is a stand-alone program. It's available for a fee or free if you let it give you pop-up ads. Opera's claim to fame is speed in its rendering. I suppose, as long as IE doesn't have pop-up control, then that's a feature as well.

They're both available for Mac from their respective sites. I think that Opera for PC has the best ability to properly render web pages optimized for various browsers -- not sure about the Mac version's abilities.

They're all better than IE.

tazo

macrumors 68040