Browsing Tesco.com on iPad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by mrochester, Jan 29, 2011.

  1. mrochester macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #1
    For some reason browsing Tesco.com on my iPad causes it a major problem in that it constantly shuts down Safari when I try to navigate between pages. Has anyone got any idea what could be going on with this?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Ants42 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #2
    Tesco is the only website that kills Safari on my Macbook Pro every time. It usually freezes until I Force Quit. I have no idea why.

    It also crashes on my iPhone, though I don't have an iPad to test.
     
  3. Piggie macrumors 604

    Piggie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    #3
    At first I thought it may be a bug with Safari, I don't use Safari personally as it's so basic and limited. So I tried that site, clicked around the coloured menu's for a while and after perhaps around 30 seconds of multiple navigation links on the site Safari just shut down as you explained.

    I then tried Perfect browser which has been my browser of choice for many months, though a brand new and quite revolutionary new one is just starting to appear, and after around 30 seconds the same thing happened.

    So it looks like it's a more deep down core iPad bug/fault, perhaps the root code that both these browser use, or some graphical issue is causing them to bomb out/crash back to the iPad's desktop.

    I just tried a 3rd browser and also this did the same thing.

    So it's not a browser issue, it's some fault down further, perhaps with the Apple code all these browsers use that's crashing the apps.

    Perhaps there's a page we can send bugs to Apple on, anyone know?
     
  4. TangoDown macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    No problems here using Atomic. Its not even using a lot of memory.
     
  5. Piggie macrumors 604

    Piggie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    #5
    Here's how I found it.

    Go to tesco.com

    on the left hand side click on one of the menu items, say HOME ELECTRICAL

    The along, near the top of the screen you see a coloured menu bar with drop down menu's

    click on one of these coloured drop down menu's to go to a page

    then click on another one, which will be a different colour menu and select from that menu, and do this again and again.

    I just crashed out Atomic after about 3 or 4 menu selections from these drop down coloured menus
     
  6. mrochester thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #6
    Well it's looking more like an incompatibility between Tesco and both the iPad and iPhone 4 (I've tried it on both). My desktop and laptop browsers all handle the website without any issues.
     
  7. Piggie macrumors 604

    Piggie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    #7
    Yes, I think you are right, as I say I've tried 3 browsers now on the iPad and they all bomb out, so I suspect all browsers, deep down use the same Apple code to do the actual web page decoding/display and that's what must be at fault.

    It's odd that Ants42 says his MacBook bombs on the site also using Safari, perhaps it is some very deep rooted Apple issue with browser code/rendering that's at fault?

    For the record, I just tried for a whole minute clicking many many links really quickly using the Chrome browser on my PC and it was fine.

    Also showed up just how much faster at rendering the web site my PC is than my iPad. Something I hope they improve a lot with iPad2.
     
  8. mrochester thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #8
    Just tried using Safari on my MBP and the Tesco website makes that hang and crash too. Firefox, on the other hand, is absolutely fine. Really really odd.
     
  9. Ants42 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    #9
    It also crashes using Firefox searching for laptops. Only seems to happen when I refine the search terms (sort by price etc.). I started seeing this last year and thought it was only my Macbook, odd that it doesn't work well on any Apple gadget.
     
  10. Piggie macrumors 604

    Piggie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    #10
  11. ditzy macrumors 68000

    ditzy

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    #11
    I've had this problem too. However I now use their new iPad app, it works really well.
     
  12. Kebabselector macrumors 68030

    Kebabselector

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Location:
    Birmingham, UK
    #12
    Searching Samsung TVs at Tesco.com caused safari to crash on my 3GS. Quite annoying at the time.
     
  13. Zcott macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Location:
    Belfast, Ireland
    #13
    I've seen this problem on a few Macs running Safari. Seems to be a pretty bad site.
     
  14. mrochester thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #14
    I wonder what it is about Safari on OSX and iOS that causes this?
     
  15. Piggie macrumors 604

    Piggie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    #15
    I could almost see this as another stamp your feet and blame the other person type thing again.

    Apple may be adhering 100% to some rules and perhaps the Tesco site in some tiny way breaks some rule and bombs the browser out.

    You could then handle this two ways. You can tweak the browser to not crash and perhaps "soak up" the error and carry on working.

    Or you can stand your ground, say your browser is right, blame Tesco and say they should change their site so it works.

    It may not be this, but it could be.

    Ideally you work together to get over the problem, which if of course best for the consumer.
     
  16. mrochester thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2009
    #16
    I suppose with no official statement from either, it's impossible to point the finger of blame. I just hope someone does something to make it work!
     
  17. testcard macrumors 68030

    testcard

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    Middle England
  18. Dr McKay macrumors 68040

    Dr McKay

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Location:
    Kirkland
    #18
    The site worked fine on Safari on my iPad, and Safari on Windows.

    Weird, just bad luck I guess...


    Edit: Nevermind, this is what happened 8 seconds after I posted this and closed the Tesco.com tab

    [​IMG]

    No such bad luck on the iPad though...
     
  19. thunderbunny macrumors 6502a

    thunderbunny

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    #19
    Usually is the next page button that does it on mine. But choosing an actual page number (even if it is the next one) works fine most of the time.
     
  20. adnoh macrumors 6502a

    adnoh

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    #20
    I can confirm this causes both safari and atomic to crash on my iPad and also safari on my MacBook.

    I have had no trouble with the tesco site using chrome though as has already been mentioned. Its the only reason i have that program on my MacBook to use that 1 site!

    Went into an apple store and spoke to a genius about it who said it's a fault with the tesco website. I then pointed out that chrome has no problem meaning its a browser issue and he basically told me to foxtrot Oscar.
     
  21. Piggie macrumors 604

    Piggie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    #21
    :D classic :D
     
  22. mikechan1234 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    #22
    tesco.com works perfectly fine to me, on MBP, iPad and iPhone all using Safari.
     
  23. Piggie macrumors 604

    Piggie

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    #23
    Have you followed my guide in post #5 in this thread?

    Keep clicking around the different coloured drop down menu's for a while?
     

Share This Page