BTO iMac Retina 5K DOA

Discussion in 'iMac' started by dingosatemybaby, Oct 29, 2014.

  1. dingosatemybaby macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #1
    Picked up my built to order Retina 5K this evening. Got home, plugged it in, heard the boot up chime and then... nothing. Just a black screen. The fan kicks in about a minute later (very loud), but the screen never comes on. I can pair the keyboard and hear keystrokes, but screen stays black. The only good thing I can say is yep, you truly can't see any pixels no matter how hard you look.
     
  2. macmee Suspended

    macmee

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    This is what you get for receiving your riMac before I did :cool:
     
  3. Roller macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    #3
    Well, that sucks. Hope you get it taken care of ASAP.
     
  4. DerekS macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    #4
    Sorry for your bad luck! Here's hoping for a speedy replacement.
     
  5. senseless macrumors 68000

    senseless

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    #5
    Same thing happened to me in 2009 with my BTO I7 iMac. The replacement is still working though.
     
  6. tillsbury macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #6
    Our sympathies. I was worried about the same thing (unpacked mine this morning). Sorry to hear of its death... hope you haven't waited two weeks for the thing to be delivered as happens here...
     
  7. dingosatemybaby thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #7
    It was about a two week wait. Chatted with support tonight and they are having a sr. advisor call me in the morning to discuss options. Its disappointing, but truly a first world problem not worth lamenting over. Apple will take care of it.
     
  8. petvas macrumors 601

    petvas

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Location:
    Mannheim, Germany
    #8
    I had a similar experience last year with my late 2013 iMac. Apple replaced it but it took them a while. At the end I had to contact Tim Cook to speed up things..(which also worked).
    Now I sold my late 2013 iMac and got the Retina iMac. An amazing computer and I am sure, when you get a working one, you will love it.
     
  9. Bryan Bowler macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2008
    #9
    OP,

    I am terribly sorry to hear this. I guess it happens on rare occasion, but I'm sure it's still a big disappointment for you.

    On the lighter side of things, I laughed pretty hard when I read the last sentence in your first post. That was pretty funny!

    Best wishes for a speedy replacement,
    Bryan
     
  10. powerless macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    #10
    The only option that you have is to wait for your new one to be built and your DOA to be picked up. Another two weeks of waiting (?), but there isn't a lot that can be done.
     
  11. dingosatemybaby thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    #11
    Took it to a local Apple Store. Fortunately it was a simple fix- display cable had come unplugged inside the case. Good to go!
     
  12. macmee Suspended

    macmee

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Location:
    Canada
    #12
    That's a good attitude to have :)
     
  13. enroh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2012
    #13
    thats awesome but I think i would rather get a direct replacement and wait (as painful as that would be)
     
  14. nrubenstein macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #14
    *rolleyes* A cable was loose. You gain literally nothing from waiting for a replacement.
     
  15. tillsbury macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    #15
    Ah, but they've let all the factory air out of the inside now, so it's worth nothing to an Apple collector second-hand... :cool:
     
  16. Cape Dave macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    Northeast
    #16
    And yet... there is something to be said for a factory sealed unit :)
     
  17. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #17

    Maybe one of those delivery guy videos throwing the box over the fence.... cringe....:eek:
     
  18. nrubenstein macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #18
    At this point, really no. It was one thing with the old machines where they would get dust in between the LCD and the glass. With the glass bonded to the LCD, there is nothing to contaminate. Everything else has external air flowing through it.
     
  19. cb911 macrumors 601

    cb911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Location:
    BrisVegas, Australia
    #19
    ... which is?
     

Share This Page