Bug in Find my iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jmmo20, Jun 12, 2009.

  1. jmmo20 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2006
    #1
    Hello, we were told that the sound alert for Find my iPhone would work even in silent mode.

    Yes, that's true.

    However, the alert does respect the speaker volume settings. That means that while the alert does sound, the "nice guy who borrowed your iphone" could very well lower the volume down to the lowest setting, at which point the alert would make even less noise than the vibration itself!!

    I would expect, from this feature, to play the alert sound at the loudest setting possible (And I would even change the sound to the rigngtone "Alert" :p)
     
  2. peteryan7hao macrumors regular

    peteryan7hao

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    melbourne
    #2
    Mine says "No device registered"

    whys that? I have my mobileme setup and 'find my iphone' switched on....
     
  3. bbotte macrumors 65816

    bbotte

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #3
    You have to sync your phone to your computer with 3.0 loaded on the phone. It will work Tuesday. The people talking about this have GM Dev copies on their phones, they paid $100 for the right.
     
  4. damesJ macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
  5. iwhat??? macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    #5
    According to this, if the "borrower" just ejects the sim card then the feature is useless.

    "The system isn't foolproof, however. One problem with Find My iPhone, according to Jonathan Zdziarski in a Twitter post, is that, "There's a magic button on every iPhone a thief can use to disable remote wipe and LocateMe; it's called the SIM eject button.""

    http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-19512_7-10260287-233.html?tag=TOCmoreStories.0
     
  6. Phil A. Moderator

    Phil A.

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    #6
    I think that if the iPhone subsequently connects via wifi or another SIM is put into the phone then Find My iPhone will start working again: basically what he's saying here is that it needs an active internet connection to work (obviously!)

    Another other issue with Find My iPhone which isn't really a bug but just the way it works is that once you've wiped the phone it can't be located any more which is pretty obvious because once it's wiped it no longer has details of your MobileMe account on it. However, this does mean that if you lose your phone you have to choose between wiping it and finding it...

    However, even with these limitations, it's a pretty cool and unique feature and I'd rather we had it than didn't have it :)
     
  7. superstrikertwo macrumors 65816

    superstrikertwo

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    California
    #7
    They can also just go to settings and turn it off.
     
  8. Eddyisgreat macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    #8
    The idea is that you would have a passcode on it anyway. Most theives won't know about DFU mode or go through the trouble to restore it.
     
  9. Revelation78 macrumors 68000

    Revelation78

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #9
    The person who "takes" your iPhone will also need to be aware of this feature. My guess, out of the 1,000 or so iPhones lost/stolen only about 5% or less would probably know about this feature.
     
  10. geoffpreston macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #10
    find my iphone mobile me - no devices registered

    I've been wrestling with this for about 4 hours. I'm running iPhone 3.1.2, I've set it up with MobileMe - all syncing works (Calendars, Contacts, iDisc, etc) but when I click on the Find My iPhone icon it says Loading Find My iPhone... and then a message appears saying No Devices Registered. I'm using the correct password, I've deleted the MobileMe settings and reinstalled them, I've switched it off, the Find My iPhone option is set to ON on the iPhone... but nothing!! Any suggestions anyone. Pleeeeeaase.
     
  11. Mlrollin91 macrumors G3

    Mlrollin91

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Location:
    Ventura County
    #11
    Turn Find my iPhone off then back on. I had that problem a few months ago on a replacement phone. Worked for me...
     
  12. geoffpreston macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #12
    Still no devices registered

    Thanks - tried that but still nothing. I cannot believe this is taking so much time. There must be something really simple I've missed.
     
  13. renewed macrumors 68040

    renewed

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Location:
    Bemalte Blumen duften nicht.
    #13
    It is as simple as adding a MobileMe account to the iPhone you want and enabling Find My iPhone (by default it is off). Then go here . You should be able to track your iPhone, there is an option that looks like radar at the top.

    I just tried it and it showed my EXACT location.

    The only thing that I can think of is try restoring your iPhone. I have never had a problem. I actually had my old iPhone 3G still on there, just noticed and removed it.

    Visit here just to make sure you set it up correctly.
     
  14. Clete2 macrumors 65816

    Clete2

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Location:
    USA
  15. geoffpreston macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #15
    Yes - done all that!

    Thanks for replying - but that is not the answer, I'm sorry to say. The iPhone has the MobileMe account set up correctly (hence being able to sync pictures, documents, etc). The Find My iPhone button is On and I've now tried just about everything. (I'm beginning to think this is some kind of early April Fool joke! :mad:)

    I don't know what 'Necromancer' means so I can't comment on that.
     
  16. scaredpoet macrumors 604

    scaredpoet

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    #16
    That's pretty much true for any GSM phone.

    However, on an iPhone the thief has to go looking for a paper clip or something long and sharp to stick into the eject button to activate it. And if another SIM is put back in, or if they have a WiFi connection, then the connection becomes active again.

    Basically, the thief ends up with a mostly non-functional iPhone if they don't want it to ping MobileMe, at least until s/he can wipe the device on their own.
     
  17. alent1234 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #17
    it's a worthless feature since it's easy to shut it off, replace the SIM and reinstall the OS. what's even worse is the IMEI number will stay the same since it's a complicated procedure to change it. if you report your phone lost or stolen AT&T will know if it's on the network with a different SIM but they won't do anything about it
     

Share This Page