Building a dvd-ripped library......... that fits everything...

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by zainjetha, Sep 27, 2007.

1. zainjetha macrumors 6502a

Hi guys

im new to the mac world..

heres my story/dilemma:

i have an 80gb ipod, macbook pro and am getting an appletv next week on my 17th birthday.. i have started to rip my dvd collection using handbrake...

these files which i rip normally to fit the ipod (ipod handbrake option) fit my ipod screen very well. to my great joy they also look amazing on the screen of my macbook pro.. will these also fit my appletv?

my assumptions are as follows:

iTunes Store resolution: 640 by 360........

these files are said to fit the appletv well...... these also look good on my macboook pro screen.

Handbrake rips resolution:

640 by 352..
    these fit my ipod well and my pro screen well..

since itunes stuff said to fit appletv well is it likely that my dvdrips will aswell, since there is only an 8 pixel difference from 352 to 360. can that make a difference...

i also have a feeling that apple might start encoding stuff to fit the resolution of the ipod classic.. could this happen????????

i dont want to have duplicates to fit both devices. doesnt make sense... please reply vite......

please help so i can build my library.......

2. HobeSoundDarryl macrumors 603

HobeSoundDarryl

Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
    That 2nd to last sentence is key to the feedback you seek. If you feel that way, then ripping using the ipod preset (relevant to your ipod) is the way to go.

However, if you want maximum quality on the bigger screen tv via AppleTV, you can do much better (noticably better) than ipod resolution. If you want the movies to look very close to how they look when you play the DVD, you'll want to use the AppleTV preset, 2 pass, resulting in a file that won't play on your ipod (without downconverting it and thus creating a 2nd (for ipod) copy).