Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Weerez935

macrumors regular
Original poster
Dec 13, 2012
I'm considering building a media server following tonymacx86 guide for the deluxe mini (m-itx) build but I've never built a computer before so I have a few questions.

I'm considering this route because I use a MacBook Air for school as a main computer and would like to have a computer that is always on to run hazel rules, filter mail, and store media. The current Mac mini would be a decent choice but I wouldn't be able to rip my dvds without an external optical drive and the storage capacity is limited. I have a 27" monitor already setup that I use as a dock for my air. I'm just conflicted on what I actually need. I was considering a quad core i5 or i7. The i7 seems like overkill but I was wondering how much faster handbrake would work. I was also debating discrete vs integrated graphics. I use pixelmator and iMovie occasionally so I assume integrated would be fine but am open to suggestions. I'm also curious for those who have experience if a hackintosh is reliable for backups. I plan on having 3 1 terabyte drives and an ssd boot drive so I have plenty of room for backups, ripped movies, music, photos etc. I have iTunes Match so my music shouldn't be in jeopardy but I am curious on the reliability of these types of setups for media servers. From what I've read it seems like a viable solution.

DaPhatty

macrumors member
Jul 12, 2008
I recently built a media server using a 2.4Ghz Core 2 Duo Mac Mini with an Nvidia GeForce 320 and built in optical drive. To address the storage issue, I bought a MiniStack from http://www.macsales.com. If you prefer to use a newer Mac Mini, the Mini Stack Max comes with an optical drive. All you have to do is provide a large drive for storage. It's an elegant and inexpensive setup if you go the used Mac Mini route.

linds15

macrumors 6502a
Oct 16, 2012