Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

potimus

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 25, 2013
Hi everyone, I have a few questions regarding building apps, I'm brand new to it so any and all information is welcomed.

I've done quite a bit of research, and every guide / tutorial on how to make an app goes on and on about how you need "no programming knowledge" at all. To me it all sounds too easy. I'm decently experienced in Java, and I'm willing to learn objective C, and would appreciate if someone could point me in the right direction on where to start.

I've heard "SDK" a lot. Does apple supply one? What software do I use to develop an app? What hardware will be necessary?

I know these are extremely general questions, but as stated before, any information on the topic would be very appreciated!

Thanks!

Tander

macrumors 6502a
Oct 21, 2011
Johannesburg, South Africa
Hi and welcome to MR.

So let's start with what you need to develop apps (Hardware wise)

1. A Mac (iMac, Mac Mini, etc) any recent Mac with an Intel CPU.

Software wise:

1. Xcode - used to write and developer the app - an all in one IDE
2. An Apple Developer's account - $99 per year. (Free if you just want to test your app on your mac and cannot install it to a device )

You need to know C and Objective-C to be any good at this.

Personally, I suggest starting out with the Stanford's CSP193 Winter 2013 course. Lectures are free and takes you through everything you need to know on building apps and becoming an iOS developer. :D

ArtOfWarfare

macrumors G3
Nov 26, 2007
You mentioned Java, so it doesn't seem like too much of a stretch to think you're used to Android. If you are, a key difference to note is that whereas the Android simulator sucks, the iOS one does not.

potimus

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 25, 2013