Building File Server, Best/Safest RAID Setup??

Discussion in 'macOS' started by jdl8422, Jun 24, 2010.

  1. jdl8422 macrumors 6502

    jdl8422

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #1
    I am currently building a RAID setup for storage of iTunes and other files. I have 4 hard drive spots to work with. I have been throwing around a few options. Any suggestions on the safest way of doing this would be great!

    Option 1:
    4 x 1.5TB (2x1.5TB RAID 0 + 2x1.5TB RAID 0 Clone) What would be the worst case scenario with this? if one hard drive fails I would just use the clone or vice versa.

    Option 2:
    4 x 1.5TB RAID 1 with no clone. Which of these is the better option? or is there an option 3?
     
  2. hakuryuu macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2007
    Location:
    Lomita, CA
    #2
    Since you can't do RAID 5 without a card the RAID 10 (option 1) setup is likely
    your best bet.

    http://support.apple.com/kb/TA24359

    No matter what you still only end up with 3TB. If you could do RAID 5 you would end up with roughly 4190TB.
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    I agree, RAID 0+1 seems to be the best option. If OP did RAID 1, he would end up with 1.5TB I think because the data is mirrored to all drives

    I didn't know RAID 5 can increase the total capacity by that much :rolleyes: 4.19PB sounds massive :D
     
  4. jdl8422 thread starter macrumors 6502

    jdl8422

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #4
    I am using a G4 Quicksilver and I have 2 sonnet tempo SATA cards. Each card has 2 SATA ports. I'm not really sure if I can do a RAID 0+1. Sounds like a good idea if I can. Would just setting up two RAID 0 and using carbon copy to clone one RAID 0 to other work just as well?
     
  5. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #5
    Of course it would, it's just software "RAID 1" but does the same thing
     

Share This Page