Building Friend a pc, it's been a while any suggestions

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by fenderbass146, Nov 6, 2013.

  1. fenderbass146 macrumors 65816

    fenderbass146

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana
    #1
    First off, I am sure there are much better forums to post this in, however this is the only one I am an active member of.
    My friend is selling his Macbook air and looking to build a gaming pc. He has a budget of $600. I have built 3 pc's in the last 5 or 6 years, but I always like to get second opinions from others before I get stuff, especially when I am building it for someone else.

    Here is the build list.

    CPU:AMD FX-6300 six core cpu 3.5 ghz $120 includes heat sync pre pasted
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819113286

    Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-78LMT Micro-ATX (micro-atx case) $65
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128565

    GPU: EVGA 650 TI Boost $149.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130909

    Memory: G.Skill Sniper Series 2x4 DDR3 ram $73
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231519

    Solid State: Intel 80 GB SSD $97
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820167154

    PSU: Corsair 500watt PSU Modular $54.99
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139050

    Case: Corsair Obsidian case mid tower microatx. This one is not able to be changed. I am selling him this case for $50 bucks
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811139020

    Optical Drive: Just some basic sata dvd burner

    HDD: My friend already has a 500 GB external that he plans on gutting to use the internal drive

    OS: I have an extra copy of Windows 8.1 from my work for him to use.

    What does everyone think of this build list.
     
  2. SilentPanda, Nov 6, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2013

    SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
    #2
    You might make an account on TomsHardware.com and also post over there. The people on those forums are more likely to give you much better answers (at least faster). They're good at "most bang for your buck".

    Also check out http://pcpartpicker.com/ as it will tell you if stuff will work together or not. Plus it might remind you of components you forgot.

    Here is your current setup on pcpartpicker...

    http://pcpartpicker.com/p/1Yhz7
     
  3. fenderbass146 thread starter macrumors 65816

    fenderbass146

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana
    #3
    thanks, that pcpartpicker is a very cool site.
     
  4. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #4
    500W might be on the low side for a power supply. It could probably power that system as is, but if he ever upgrades the video card or goes SLI and adds a new one, that might be pushing it. I'd spend a little bit more and get at least a 700W.
     
  5. fenderbass146 thread starter macrumors 65816

    fenderbass146

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana
    #5
    I thought about that, but it's a microatx board and doesn't support sli. Also right now it's only at 330watt according to part checker
     
  6. localoid macrumors 68020

    localoid

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Location:
    America's Third World
    #6
    The specs page for the video card @ NewEgg lists a "450W Power Supply" as a system requirement. If you're thinking of overclocking the system, I'd suggest that you should consider a power supply greater than 500W.
     
  7. fenderbass146 thread starter macrumors 65816

    fenderbass146

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    Northwest Indiana
    #7

    Thanks for the recommendations. I think I'm gonna stick with the 500watt. Right now it's still only using 330watt. There is plenty of overhead to overlock. I personally have a phenom iix4 and a 560 graphics card with three hard drives and I over clocked both my CPU and gpu with no issues on a 500watt psu
     

Share This Page