Building Hackintosh, help needed on parts

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by eVolcre, Nov 5, 2014.

1. eVolcre macrumors 65816

eVolcre

There's really no 'reason' for this, I've ordered the 27" iMac but I've never built a computer before and want to do this project.

Did a little bit of research and found this site that has instructions for building a custo mac pro ....

http://www.tonymacx86.com/446-building-customac-buyer-s-guide-october-2014.html#custo_pro

My question is where is the best/cheapest place to buy parts and whether the things listed in the above article are accurate. Holiday season is coming up and I thought some of you could give me hints.

I was thinking of an internal 512GB SSD for 3 O/Ses - Win 8, OSX and Linux. Why? Why not? And then have an internal 2TB drive for media and files.

So what say? Any of you want to join this building journey with me and share information and experience?

Cheers,

eV

2. Sekon macrumors newbie

I've used the recommended parts on tonymac before and had no problems whatsoever.

Its possible to get OSX working on a lot of different hardware, but it often requires time messing about to ensure everything works correctly.

With parts from the recommended list, you know that its definitely going to work, and you won't have to spend too long messing around with things like configs and such. (you can pretty much follow their guide exactly)

As for the SSD, 170gb per OS seems a bit small to me, but I guess that's just personal preference.

If you plan on sharing the 2TB drive (rather than partitioning it) you need to consider how you are going to format it.

For example
    If you use a native mac format, you probably won't be able to read / write to the drive on the other OSes.

If you use NTFS, then you can read it on your mac, but will require 3rd party drivers in order to write to it.

3. \-V-/ Suspended

\-V-/