Built in Camera

Discussion in 'iMac' started by eteddyg, Jan 13, 2011.

  1. eteddyg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Location:
    MN
    #1
    Recently I replaced the hard drive on my iMac (thanks to all the helped me with that). After reinstalling the off of the original disk, my camera won't work. The little green light is on next to the lens but says it is inactive. is there ANY way to get that working again... Without opening it up I mean. What a pain in the ass that was!!! :eek:
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    What iMac do you have and what Mac OS X version does it use?
    What applications have you tested the camera with? QuickTime, iMovie, Photo Booth?
     
  3. eteddyg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Location:
    MN
    #3
    I have had this iMac for about 3-4 years. Running OSx - 10.4.
    have only tried using photobooth
     
  4. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #4
    What about iMovie and QT?

    Is it an Aluminium iMac or one of the white ones?
     
  5. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #5
    You should only have to remove the glass and bezel to check the connector for the camera, yes?
     
  6. eteddyg thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Location:
    MN
    #6
    It's one of the white ones. I had to remove the White frame and screen to get to the hard drive. As far as I could tell I didn't disconnect any of the wires up on top where the camera is. But when I put it all back together the ONLY thing that wasn't working was the camera. Our tech guy here at work was concerned about the camera... Not sure why?
     
  7. MacHamster68, Jan 13, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2011

    MacHamster68 macrumors 68040

    MacHamster68

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #7
    you did not disconnect the camera :eek:


    here is the video how it should be done , most other videos just show you to unscrew the bottom and then just flip the front up , but that is totally wrong as you risk to damage these cables , here how its done proper

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FN3N_qxLlWk&feature=related

    if you are lucky you only have a slightly lose connection on the camera side or logicboard side , if unlucky you stretched the cable a bit to much and broke the wires inside ,or the connector on the logicboard or camera side, these cables one is for micro and the other for the cam have inside very fine wires which are quiet sensible so are the connectors
     

Share This Page