Burn DVD to play on PS3

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jealous17, Jul 20, 2009.

1. jealous17 macrumors newbie

Hey, I'm fairly new to mac, and needed to know how to do something with my particular arrangement.
    I did some searching on these forums, and found some useful info, but need more info.

My configuration is i have a new Imac, and I have alot of movies in avi. format that I want to burn on a DVD and be able to play on my PS3 as that is all I use to watch movies. And I doubt that I can just burn that avi to a DVD and boom it works. So I need to know what I need to convert them to, and what is the best program to convert them (doesn't have to be free software either, just the best because it will be watched on a 61" tv, so I need quality to be awesome cause otherwise it will stretch and distort).
    And how to burn them with what program for them to work on my PS3.
    Thanks for any help.

2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

iBookG4user

I usually use Toast, it costs money but is well worth it IMO. I use the "DVD Video" option and it plays perfectly on my PS3.

3. jealous17 thread starter macrumors newbie

Thanks for the quick reply.
    I will try that method.

--But I would also like to hear what other people use too. thanks.

4. dino12 macrumors member

Popcorn 3 is a good program, but it cost $$ also

5. surflordca macrumors 6502a

surflordca

and also by the same people that make Toast

6. ez4u2sa67 macrumors member

ez4u2sa67

7. gednow macrumors newbie

You need Handbrake.

This has a specific PS3 or XBOX 360 conversion panel where everything is done for you. Then burn using Toast!

8. Makosuke macrumors 603