Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Arcane86

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 16, 2007
Steel City, Ontario
Hey all, i have a few movies i would like to copy and burn due to i have a sister that like to steal my movies and leave em around after watching one and then putting another one in.:(..hence scratched up dvds = un-happy me.
so are there any programs already on the mac i can use or what?

i went and got movies online of ones i had that got destroyed already and used a program called "burn" to burn them to a dvd but...it changed them from full screen to kinda a half ass-d fullscreen. like theres black bars at the bottom of my tv screen...but the sides are cut off still.

im a noob with mac's and i got my black macbook for my graphic design course...so any help is wicked awsome of you!!:cool:

davidg4781

macrumors 68030
Oct 28, 2006
Alice, TX
Why not just walk into Best Buy, pick up the one she scratched, and walk out the door with it.

It's essentially the same thing.

If you're going to back up a DVD, you have to continue to own the DVD. If it gets lost, stolen, damaged, whatever, you no longer have the rights to those DVDs.

Blubbert

macrumors 6502
Nov 1, 2006
Why not just walk into Best Buy, pick up the one she scratched, and walk out the door with it.

It's essentially the same thing.

If you're going to back up a DVD, you have to continue to own the DVD. If it gets lost, stolen, damaged, whatever, you no longer have the rights to those DVDs.

So, in your view, backups of media you own are illegal? I keep backups just in that specific case that someting happens to the original media, thats why they are backups.

davidg4781

macrumors 68030
Oct 28, 2006
Alice, TX
So, in your view, backups of media you own are illegal? I keep backups just in that specific case that someting happens to the original media, thats why they are backups.