Burning M-Disc Blu-rays with Mac Pro 3.1

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by atticmike, Jul 24, 2015.

  1. atticmike macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    #1
    Greetings fellow Mac Users,

    What would you suggest to successfully and reliably burn M-Disc Blu-rays with my Mac Pro 3.1?

    My first thought came across usb-based external drives but apparently, their bad reputation precedes them.

    I thought about using one of the unused SATA ports, but wouldn't that conflict with a system that has already 4 hard drives installed (2 ssd and 2 regular) such as mine, and connecting with that additional port on top of it all?

    I'd like to hear your thoughts on this matter.

    Mike
     
  2. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #2
    I've really good results with MCE Blu-Ray products.
     
  3. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #3
    When I still had my 2008 Mac Pro, I was able to burn Blu-Rays using an external Pioneer Blu-Ray drive connected via Firewire. I have not tried M-Blu-Rays so I could not comment on that. I've only tried Verbatim BDRs using Toast Titanium.
     
  4. atticmike thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    #4
    Anyone with knowledge about running 4 hard drives and still being able to use the extra sata port?
     
  5. Macsonic macrumors 65816

    Macsonic

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    Earth
    #5
    Maybe this video may help, the 2008 Mac Pro has 2 extra sata ports on the logic board you can access.

     
  6. atticmike thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    #6
    Thanks, I do know about it, that's why I asked whether my 4 installed drives would cause any problems with another connected device in this case?
     
  7. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #7
    Having the 4 HD's installed won't cause any problems.
     
  8. atticmike thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    #8
    Really? Not gonna max out the busses or something? Power problems?
     
  9. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #9
    Not at all.. It's designed to easily handle that. I have 4 HDDs, and 2 Optical drives on SATA (look at my sig.) +plus 2 SSDs and USB 3.0 on PCIe.
     
  10. atticmike, Jul 27, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2015

    atticmike thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    #10
    Okay but yours is a Mac Pro 5,1 and mine a 3,1

    I'd like to know if someone with a Mac Pro 3,1 has done it to their satisfaction.
     
  11. crjackson2134 macrumors 68020

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #11
    Well, I certainly not going to try to talk you into something you don't believe. Apple gave you the option and it's up to you to decide if you actually want to use it.
     
  12. radiotamarillo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    #12

    I have a Mac Pro 3,1 with all 4 HD bays filled. The original burner is still in the top optical bay, an SSD and additional 2.5" HD share the lower optical bay (via a custom bracket). The graphics card was updated to a Radeon 5770 and the second x16 slot contains two further SSD drives on a PCIe card. There is an eSATA card in there as well.

    Having said that, if you're worried about it you might be able to find an external M-Disc burner with a firewire or eSATA connection. I think OWC does them.
     
  13. CapnDavey macrumors 6502

    CapnDavey

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    #13
    I have a 2006 mac pro with a LG Blu ray drive in the bottom using the extra SATA port works great no problems I've been running it for over a year
     

Share This Page