"Burning" Windows 7 iso to External Hardrive Partition Possible?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by SilversunStreak, Jan 3, 2010.

  1. SilversunStreak macrumors member

    SilversunStreak

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    #1
    Hey Macrumors perusers,

    I was wondering if it's possible to "burn" a Windows 7 iso to a partition on an external hardrive. The reason I was interested in doing this is to boot from the partition and install Windows 7. I already have installed Windows 7 through bootcamp from a DVD, but it's been having issues and I'd like to clean install the final RC retail copy. I know I could burn it to a DVD and boot from that, but I'm an extremely strapped college student studying abroad and anywhere I can save money, ie not buying DVD-Rs, I'd like to.

    It seems so plausible, but it's looking like more trouble than it's worth. I've googled the subject a bunch of times with no luck or came across something I couldn't grasp, and I'm pretty techno-savy.

    Any help or a solution would be amazing.:cool:

    And for those trolling "Why would you install windows blah blah blah." I use Windows 7 for videogaming and use :apple: for school work and such.

    - Sam
     
  2. QuarterSwede macrumors G3

    QuarterSwede

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    #2
    You sure can. Same steps as creating an install from a usb flash drive. Google it.
     
  3. SilversunStreak thread starter macrumors member

    SilversunStreak

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    #3
    I have, I can't get the partition/drive to show up on startup when I hold the Option Key. I've made the partition Active and FAT-32. I've also tried editing the bios upon startup in Windows 7. Only the system installed on the internal hd appears.
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    Which Mac?

    Seems like some of them don't want to boot from external USB devices.

    B
     
  5. SilversunStreak thread starter macrumors member

    SilversunStreak

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    #5
    I have a Macbook Pro 2.4 Ghz (Old case). Frustrating if that's the case.
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    Do you happen to have a FireWire drive you could try? As I recall that seems more robust.

    B
     
  7. SilversunStreak thread starter macrumors member

    SilversunStreak

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    #7
    Unfortunately no. I just have a LACIE 500Gb USB drive.
     
  8. Crunch macrumors 6502

    Crunch

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Location:
    L.A.
    #8
    Do you have a USB stick? You can make it bootable and install Windows 7 from there. That's the case on PC's anyway. And I'm not talking about this software tool that Microsoft has come out with. You don't need that.

    I haven't been using optical drives for a long time. I always swap out whatever optical drive there may be in my Thinkpads over the years for a second hard drive. ;)
     
  9. SilversunStreak thread starter macrumors member

    SilversunStreak

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    #9
    I just have the 500 GB USB HD that should work. I have a USB stick somewhere, but it's only 128 MB.:(
     
  10. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #10
    If you can get it to boot from the 128 MB you might still be able to make it work. You'll need to load a boot loader like GRUB/LILO/rEFIt onto it and have that help you load up the HDD.

    I used to do something like that to boot Linux back in the day...

    B
     

Share This Page