Burnout Paradise Demo won't install.

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by Munchyhammer, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. Munchyhammer macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    #1
    Okay, this is really hacking me off.

    I downloaded the demo from Gamershell, Yet when I come to install it on my VM...


    That's the thing, I have no CD, it's the DEMO. What's going on?!

    Thanks,
    Munchy.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    Download Daemon Tools Lite to emulate an optical disk drive (ODD) and mount the .iso via that application.
     
  3. Munchyhammer, Jan 11, 2012
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2012

    Munchyhammer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    #3
    The demo isn't an ISO, it's a bunch of files in a folder.

    And I sure as hell, didn't pirate this, but the readme says I've purchased it! This is from Gamershell, which IS legit, right? I just want to see for myself if the game's any good before I go about buying it.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Munchyhammer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    #4
    Sorry to sound irksome, but *bump*

    I've tried to download this for three days straight now, from Nvidia, Fileplanet, and GamersHell, all with the same result.
     
  5. Acidglaze macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #5
    Have you tried running the autorun file instead of setup? I've had demos before that had required you to start by using the autorun to install.
     
  6. Munchyhammer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    #6
    Apparently not this time.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Acidglaze macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #7
    Interesting. I noticed the error message does not have a drive letter for an optical drive. Do you have your VM configured to use your Mac's optical drive? I know you're not running it from any cd, but it could be an issue for the install since pretty much all Windows machines have an optical drive of some kind. Have you tried any other of the .exe file in the main directory? Can you open the Autorun folder and show me what's in there?

    Edit-

    You might want to try the EASetup file too. It's odd that setup.exe doesn't have any icon, but EASetup.exe does.
     
  8. Munchyhammer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    #8
    Here you go. :) Nothing seems out of the ordinary, or does it?
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Acidglaze macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #9
    OK. And have you tried BurnoutLauncher.exe yet? I noticed in one of your earlier pics that your mac tried to run it (i'm guessing when it automatically decompressed the zip file). Any luck with that?
     
  10. Munchyhammer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    #10
    Here's another disappointment. That is BurnoutLauncher.exe
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Acidglaze macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #11
    OK. A few more thing to try...

    Can you move the game folder to a directory within your VM (like the desktop). If I'm mispeaking about this, you'll have to forgive me... it's been a while since I used a VM. And try the launcher from there.

    If that fails, open the autorun configuration file in notepad and post a screenshot of it here (the autorun config file has a gear in its icon, just below the .exe file)
     
  12. Munchyhammer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    #12
    Acidglaze, I ****** love you! Moving it to the desktop seems to have budged it, and runs installation fine, I'll keep you posted if anything goes awry though.

    Many thanks, dude!
    Munchy :D
     
  13. Acidglaze macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #13
    No problem.

    It's only a 30 minute demo... Hope it's worth all the effort.

    Enjoy the game!
     
  14. Munchyhammer thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    #14
    I heard you can buy it WITHIN the trial. Might have a crack at that. Was going to buy straight from Origin but wanted a taste for myself first.

    Once again, thanks.

    Munchy.

    ----------

    Working great in my VM. :D
     
  15. Acidglaze macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #15
    Yeah, from what I heard, you can buy it and it will keep everything you've accomplished from the demo.
     

Share This Page