Business Card Critique

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by Foxdog175, Apr 3, 2008.

1. Foxdog175 macrumors regular

Hey, all. I've been coming here for a few years to get my fix on Apple rumors mostly, but this is my first visit to the community.

I would really appreciate a crit for a business card I'm designing for myself. As a recent graduate with an emphasis on 3D modeling, I've been hunting for a full time position for it. For the time being though, I figured I would make a business card that I can pass around...just something to get work coming my way.

The idea of the card really is just the construction of design in all aspects. Does it come off that way though? I'm wondering if the crane isn't passing the correct message.

http://s41.photobucket.com/albums/e256/foxdog175/?action=view&current=bretBizCard.jpg

I'm unsure of why the 83% version is giving it a blue tint. Clicking on the full size should correct it.

2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

I collect business cards for a living, I appreciate a nice card.

That said, the crane was only cute once I noticed it was holding the "N" up or whatever it is doing. First thoughts, it needed to be anchored to something on the card. The darker gray just below it for example wouldn't hurt.

The hands, the fingers pointing...lose them. It felt very powerpoint'ish. Sorry just my opinion.

I do not like the decision to use every font in the font book. It seems amateurish to me. Also, the outerglow with "CG Design".

I guess frankly the card doesn't appeal to me personally. I would question your design capabilities if I saw the card. I bet you're probably better than your card. :)

Overall you used a lot of different elements that do not flow well in the card. One element doesn't seem to translate well into the other. It isn't meant to be harsh coming from me but since you are a designer I guess harsh words sit easy, or maybe they don't.

3. MisterMe macrumors G4

MisterMe