Buy a iPod Classic 80GB now or wait until September?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by nived87, Jun 12, 2008.

1. nived87 macrumors newbie

I've been wanting to get a new mp3 player for a while. I currently own a 1GB Philips GoGear. It was fine when got it a few years ago but now I find myself wanting more. I'm a college student so by now I've made some money at my summer job and I'm ready to buy a new mp3 player. I did some research and finally decided to get the iPod Classic 80GB. I was all excited to buy my first iPod when I found the MacRumors Buyers Guide and saw that it said "Don't Buy - Updates Soon". I'm guessing that new iPods will be out in September?

Should I buy my iPod now or wait until September? I'd like one now because I like to listen to music at work and I can't stand my current player anymore. What updates are expected? Will I regret it if I buy one now?

Also, where is a good place to buy an iPod? The Online Apple Store? Are there any discounts availible?

2. rockthecasbah macrumors 68020

rockthecasbah

Updates for the classic will likely be modest, but the only sure thing is that the lowest model will likely use a 120GB single platter hard drive instead of the 80GB, making the upscale model 240GB instead of 160GB. Other than that, nothing's really known. If capacity's an issue then hold off, updates will probably come in Sept/Oct. If they aren't, I don't see much change coming to the line so you could buy now if you wanted to.

3. gazfocus macrumors 68000

gazfocus

Can MP3 players really improve anymore than the current line of iPods? I wouldn't have thought people would need more than 160GB :confused:

Anyway, I think the biggest change will be the price. With the iPhone now at $99, (and being offered as a PAYG in the UK), I think Apple are going to have to restructure the entire iPod line up prices....just a thought.

4. Play Ultimate macrumors 6502