Buy a new macbook...Get a FREE Kernel Panic!!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by HaveBlue83, Jan 20, 2008.

  1. HaveBlue83 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Location:
    West Grove, PA~ Stationed at Fort Polk, LA
    #1
    OK. LONGTIME user of mac. since Performa 6200. never had a PC, don't want one. Really wondering how bad they could be now....

    So I am in Baghdad, Iraq. Serving the good ol' USA....

    I decide that my 1.42 iBook has had enough of me after it's recent downhill spiral.

    I spend $1,600 on a 1GB RAM 250GB HDD 13" 2.2MHz Macbook. I bought the 3year applecare plan (my FIRST time for that one)

    I have it sent over to me with a 4Gig Crucial Memory upgrade. I am using it for 1 day and decide to watch a DVD. a Good one from the US. Well, I soon found out about the good ol' Kernel Panic. Insert DVD, grey screen appears, restart. After that the DVD plays.....

    I call apple care. they tell me to return it and ask for a new one.



    COOL





    but.....




    I AM IN IRAQ. I am thousands of miles away from the states. I want a new computer. NOW. Not after paying to send one back, waiting to get another one with the 250GB hard drive, and paying for it to be sent back to me. If you don't ship it Priority, it will take a MONTH to get here.

    I need this thing NOW.

    And what's to say that they don't ship another one from Shanghai, with a 250GB hard drive to replace mine, and it does the SAME THING?? HMM? Go look on apple.com/discussions, whatever it is.....12 or so reply's without a solution. If I am gonna pay my left nut $$$ for something, it better work!

    If they send me another one and it's F-ed like this one I am gonna call the BBB for faulty products. I need to vent to someone, this is B.S.


    so, it's either deal with the problem, or WAIT forever and a day to get another computer.

    any suggestions? I am gonna go run an archive and install to see if I can't weed out the gremlin in the DVD run scripts that is sending the Kernal Panic.

    All I want is an UN-glitchy mac. I feel like those women that stay with a Boyfriend that beats them because they "love them":rolleyes:....

    I love mac and all it does is fail me.......:mad: :(
     
  2. samh004 macrumors 68020

    samh004

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    Well your not going to be in Iraq for the next 3 years right. And AppleCare lasts that long, so you could deal with the issue for now and assuming it's still there when you get back, take it in and get it replaced then, after all it'll still be under warranty.
     
  3. HaveBlue83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Location:
    West Grove, PA~ Stationed at Fort Polk, LA
    #3
    thank you sir...I will be coming back in may for R&R. Then I can 1 for 1 exchange it if it is still happening.


    Also, if they ever get a bug fix for this in .2 .3 .4 , whenever, I won't exchange it. I just want it to WORK!
     
  4. nazuk macrumors 6502

    nazuk

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    England, UK
    #4
    Apple's Fault obviously...

    I think Apple should have opened a Store in Baghdad especially for you.

    I'm thinking of going to Dubai later this year, I might email Steve Jobs and ensure he opens a Store there before I arrive, just incase my iBook fails.

    Mind you, I think every single product that Apple releases should always be fault free 100% - it's disgusting how they don't achieve this! :rolleyes:
     
  5. HaveBlue83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Location:
    West Grove, PA~ Stationed at Fort Polk, LA
    #5
    got it....

    nice sarcasm......


    anyways, I just archived and installed the OS (10.5)

    functions fine now. whatever batch of 10.5 they loaded on my macbook had that glitch. you figure they would check before shipping on this kinda stuff. Now I have a negative outlook on it......

    I am going to chalk this up to a "NEW OS" and not let this totally ruin my experience.

    I am staying 10.5.0 until a solid update is out there.

    at least I don't have to ship the bugger back (just yet....lol)
     
  6. skyrider007 macrumors 65816

    skyrider007

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Location:
    Bangkok
  7. Yankees 4 Life macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    College Station, Tx
  8. pianoplayer1 macrumors 6502

    pianoplayer1

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Location:
    New York
    #8
  9. HaveBlue83 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Location:
    West Grove, PA~ Stationed at Fort Polk, LA
    #9
    I will run that check later. Thanks for the link.

    This is my second time with crucial memory. I have NO reason to suspect that as a cause...they are TOP NOTCH.....I recommend them to everyone.

    Update: computer is running fune. too 3 DVD's no problem. whatever batch of OS 10.5 they installed in my Mac was glitchy I guess.

    My backups are clean and bug-free so far. anyone ever heard of them having a "bad batch" of installs? maybe their copy was fragged???

    Iraq is, um, Iraq....lol. The mortars can get annoying........

    Officer...lol. Just a lil ol' Specialist here.....hehehe.

    I am in good spirits. I just need this thing to make it through with me. I use it every day for my files, manuals, and benchstock. yeah, a WHITE computer in Iraq. :eek:

    this is SOLVED for now :) Thanks all for the responses.
     
  10. pr5owner macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2007
    #10
    what is wrong with this sentence?
     

Share This Page