Buy a SATA or a Solid State MBA?

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by uniforms, Oct 28, 2008.

1. uniforms macrumors regular

I have 1st generation MBA 1.6 with 80 gig HD. (Which now I have to sell) I bought the new MB when it was released earlier this month. I found it to be a very responsive machine but took it back for either a pro with a great resolution or wait for the new MBA. I decided to get another air. I really love the weight of the machine.

Now the help I need is to (1) get the 1.6 which speed right now I find good or get the 1.8 Ghz. then the big question . . . .

(2) get the SATA hard drive or spend the bucks and get the Solid State. I hear the start up time is very quick on the Solid State, but it's slower on writing to disk. I use this machine on the road when working with customers and use File Maker Pro mostly when in that situation. I am a novice compared to what I see on here so I'm asking all y'all mac experts....what would you do?

Thanks So Much!
    :apple: MBA 1.6 , 80 HD
    :apple: G5 Silver Tower
    :apple: MB White Core Duo
    :apple: G3 iPhone
    :apple: iTouch
    :apple: iPod Classic 160 gig

2. ducatidoc macrumors regular

ducatidoc

buy the HDD now and swap it out for a SSD in a year once the prices drop/capacity increases.

3. mac jones macrumors 68040

He he, I'm guessing you haven't used one of these drives

4200 rpm in late 2008? (and a very slow 4200 drive at that)

at least the last one was. It is 'conceivable' I suppose, that this newer larger capacity drive is faster, but I suspect the improvement is not going to eye popping

4. iPave macrumors member

iPave

I think solid state drives are not yet wort of their price. The price per gigabyte os astronomical and they are not yet so much faster than hard drives (except in random access). In some situations they might be even slower. I think it is vice to wait a couple years that prices come down, storage increases and they become faster.