Buy cheap Mac Pro 2009 Eight Core and upgrade CPU to 12 cores ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Spacedust, Jul 27, 2010.

  1. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #1
    Maybe it will be possible ;)

    Just change the CPU's.

    A switch from 2.26 8 Core +HT to 2.93 12 core +HT would be nice.

    Maybe switch from 2.66 4 Core + HT to 2.93 12 core + HT would be even possible.

    We have to find out if Apple have changed the board or just EFI.
     
  2. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #2
    if it was possible .. those cpus would be extremely expensive .. i would be happy just swapping out my current cpus for 2.93 or 3.33 quads for a decent price .. but doubt it will happen
     
  3. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #3
    If it could be done, it would have been done already. You would just need an EFI that supports B1 stepping but the '09 Mac Pro doesn't so unless someone flashes the EFI from '10 MP to '09 MP
     
  4. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #4
    Won't be possible. Same situation as the 2009 Mac Pro and the quads only have one CPU socket, so the best your going to get there is a single 6 core CPU.

    Personally im upgrading my 2009 MP to either a W3570 or a W3580 depending on what deals I can get.
     
  5. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #5
    i would like to do that as well .. hell even a 2.93 would be better than my 2.26s
     
  6. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Just check ebay.
    There is an auction for 2 W5580s (3.2GHz) for only $1000. You won't get a better price than that!
     
  7. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #7
    nice .. hey besides the W5580 what other ones can i use ?
     
  8. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    Any 55xx will work. Oh, BTW it's not W5580, it's X5580. 56xx will not work due different stepping
     
  9. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #9
    No they are indeed called W5580.

    The line is X5570, W5580 and W5590.
     
  10. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
    My bad, should have looked more carefully :eek: Always thought the W is for 3xxx :p
     
  11. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #11
    The letter in the processor number represents the TDP.

    W is for 130W, X for 95W, E for 80W, and L for 60W.
     
  12. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #12
    Yeah, that's what I thought. The X5680 is a rule-breaker though, it's 130W, I guess that got me to think it's X in 5500 line as well :cool:
     
  13. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #13
    W = Workstation
    X = Xtreme Performance
    E = Energy Efficient Desktop Processor
    L = Low Power

    The TDP's change from series to series, but that's the base Letter meanings.
     
  14. Transporteur macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  15. jetjaguar macrumors 68030

    jetjaguar

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Location:
    somewhere
    #15
    so any of these can be swapped in correct?
     
  16. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #16
    :cool: NP. :)

    Sad thing is, even with the letter codes, you still have to look up the power consumption to do certain analysis' (i.e. TCO,...).
     

Share This Page