Buy FCS3 now or wait to FCP X?

Discussion in 'Digital Video' started by oacory, Apr 13, 2011.

1. oacory macrumors regular

I am a film student and I had every intention of buying FCS3 this week since I had recently bought a retail copy of FCP 2 on eBay. The rumor last week about a new Final Cut being announced yesterday, I put my plans on hold to see the next big thing. I am unsure if I should go through and get the suite or wait for FCP X to come out and purchase that. The $299 price tag was what I would have been spending on the upgrade so there is no real difference there but I want things like Color, DVD Studio, Motion, etc. Doe anyone have any information that they are indeed working on updates for these applications? Also, how do you think the additional content would go? Just download what you need from online like Adobe does now?

Any insight would help me in making my decision. Thanks.

2. jwheeler macrumors regular

If it were me, I'd wait. I'm gunna wait to see what the education pricing is on this anyway. Does anyone know the licensing terms for Education license of the current fcp?

3. Cabbit macrumors 68020

Cabbit

If it is on the app store don't except any edu discount as has been the case with Aperture.

4. handsome pete macrumors 68000

I don't know the full terms, but as far as upgrading educational licenses, you can't.

At a $299 price point, I'd be surprised if there were much of a discount at all. Should they still offer the full suite then I would expect most of the discount to be offered on that.

5. alph45 macrumors member

this isn't an update, it's a rebuild and with features that change workflow significantly. i wouldn't even consider the purchasing the old fcp if i was in the market.

wait for the suit details as it looks like a lot of suite features are wrapped into fcp x. how other elements of suite are broken out in this new version is tba.

personally can't wait to get compressor off my computer. piece o crap.