Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Quest3

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 21, 2008
OK, my situation is quite complicated:
I'm currently in the US (student), and going to go back home (UAE) in early May. I'm looking to buy a Macbook before I go back home, since I heard that Apple prices are higher there, plus I'm a student here so I get a student discount. Anyway, I heard about the rumor that Apple might change the case of the Macbook and make it Aluminum like the Macbook Pro. Now this confused my plans:
* Is the update so significant that I really should wait? and buy it in the UAE even with the high price? (donno how higher it is).
* Would the aluminum case be like the Macbook Pro (more heat on your lap)?
* Is the case shape the only change or will there be other significant changes? (processor, speed, memory ..etc)

The buyer'a guide still recommends to buy the Macbook now, even with that rumor, which added more confusion to me.
Keep in mind that this is going to be my first Mac ever (migrating from Windows).

.:R2theT

macrumors 6502
Jul 1, 2007
VR6
Now is still a great time to buy a MacBook. It is a proven form-factor and it is just recently updated. When a new design comes out in June(if it comes out in June!) there will likely be at least a few bugs to be worked out. I wouldn't mind that so much having 3 Apple stores within a 20 minute's drive but where you will be...no way. If the current MacBook works for your needs over the next couple of years I would say get it today.

Hankster

macrumors 68020
Jan 30, 2008
Washington DC
There is ZERO evidence about an update in June. Everyone keeps coming up with "rumors" for the sake of making things up.

The next update probably won't come until the end of the year. Don't buy into all the BS hype.

flopticalcube

macrumors G4