Buy MBP now or wait for Leopard?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by schoi, Sep 6, 2007.

1. schoi macrumors newbie

Hi,

I'm a college student and I'm thinking about switching over to mac.
    As many of you already know, I can get a free iPod nano if i purchase a mac before 9/16. I would be buying a MBP, but I am a little bit hesitant because I am not entirely sure whether I should wait till Leopard comes out in October.

What do you guys think?
    Buy a MBP now and get a free iPod nano and get Leopard later when it comes out?
    or wait until Leopard comes out and buy a MBP with Leopard installed?

Thanks!

2. Zman5225 macrumors 6502a

well, if you think you could or want to use the nano, go for it now. I personally would just buy it now if you want to, even if you don't want the nano. Take the nano, quick sell it for 125 (since you only get 149 credit now) and use that money to purchase leopard. That way you're still ahead on $ value since leopard will be 70 bucks or so for students.

Again, if you want to use the nano, save yourself some money and just pick it up now and enjoy the heck out of it.

3. CalBoy macrumors 604

CalBoy

My response is based on one important question: when do you start school?

Most people who are on semester system have already started school, but those who are on quarter usually start in a few weeks. If you are going to start at the end of September, I say go for it now.