Buy MBP Now or Wait

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by MattMJB0188, Dec 28, 2009.

1. MattMJB0188 macrumors 68000

MattMJB0188

Hi everyone, I am new to the mac family lol. Only used a PC and ipods however I really want a macbook Pro. I need something extremely portable so I was considering the MBP 13" base model which is fine for me. The dilemma is I am reading all these things about a new 2010 MBP refresh which will use the new core i3 and core i5 chips. I am reading Jan 26 is when the Macbook Pro line will get refreshed with new processors and some sites say NO. Well ok I can wait until Jan 26 however I like the price of the base MBP 13' now and I can afford that. I fear with new processors they will jack up the price.

I called Apple up and of course they said something like Apple does not comment or speculate on rumors. Ok I get that, I just don't want to buy now then 3 weeks later have something better come out for the same price or close. I hope I'm making sense. Anyone shed some insight and give me advice when to buy or have any news on the core i3 and i5 chips. Thanks :D

2. Buzz Bumble Guest

No company will telling you about unreleased products.

Apple doesn't usually "jack up the price". They update their computers so that the prices stay roughly the same, or sometimes drop. They usually "ripple down" the technology. In the case of the laptops, the chip currently in the top-end MacBook Pro may get moved (as well as possibly speed-bumped) into the new 13" MacBook Pro, while the top-end gets the brand new / faster chips.

What exactly Apple will do to update the MacBook Pro is known only to them, but there is likely to be an update early in 2010, so is probably worth waiting for January / February.

3. Jpoon macrumors 6502

If you absolutely need it now, get it.

If you can wait up to half a year, I'd say wait.

4. Surely Guest

Surely

What a unique thread topic! Never seen anything like it before evar....:rolleyes: