Buy now or wait?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by mojay12, Apr 13, 2013.

1. mojay12 macrumors newbie

Hey everyone I need some advice

I was going to buy a Apple notebook at the end of the summer in addition to the current windows notebook I have (Sony Vaio Z i7), but my Z is basically failing on me. I am a student and it is very difficult to be without a notebook, so basically I am wondering should I still wait until the summer for an update or buy now??

I am still undecided between rMBP and MBA, but I'll just say I am using a rental chromebook from my university and really like the slim form factor, but I wouldn't want to sacrifice performance too much.

SO, basically wondering which notebook I should get? and if I should wait or buy it now?

Thanks

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

If you can wait until the end of the summer then wait, if you need one now, then buy one now. Apple should hopefully have their Haswell based laptops available by the end of the summer but you never know.

3. Yebubbleman macrumors 68030

Yebubbleman

The MacBook Pro product release cycle tends to be 8-10 months. Case in point, the Mid 2009 MacBook Pros came out in June of 2009 and were replaced by the Mid 2010 MacBook Pros in April of 2010, which were replaced by the Early 2011 MacBook Pros in February of 2010, which were replaced by the Late 2011 MacBook Pros in October of 2010, which were replaced by the Mid 2012 MacBook Pros in June of 2012. Now, split hairs between retina and non-retina models all you want; it's obvious that the non-retina unibody design, as wonderful as it still is, is on its way out. And even then, the Mid 2012 15" Retina was replaced eight months after its release by the Early 2013 models in February.