Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hironohaha

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 12, 2014
Hi all,
I am a student with little budget.
I bought this MBP 13" --im typing on it now--in August 2009, when I just got a fellowship.
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,5
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2.53 GHz
Number Of Processors: 1
Total Number Of Cores: 2
L2 Cache: 3 MB
Memory: 4 GB
Bus Speed: 1.07 GHz

So anyway,
this MBP had been working great for the past four years++.
...but it gets old, i think.
It is easily to get very hot...then, it becomes sooooo slow.
I also notice that the speaker isnt working properly, the sound it makes...it s not clean (?) --sorry English is not my first language, i couldnt express myself better.
The trackpad also, cannot be clicked, but it s not essential, since it still could properly recognize multitouch gesture.

Would you mind to give me advice,
should I repair it? if so, how much does it cost, approximately? I live in Tokyo, there are several Apple Store here. Is the cost standard, worldwide?
will it be cheaper to buy new one? (MBP, not MBA...i dont like the display)

...and
I couldnt do any DIY repair,
I most likely ruin this faithful companion of mine if I try to do so.

Any advice is welcomed.
Thanks

accountforit

macrumors 6502a
Jan 22, 2014
Personally, I would buy new. Your computer is 5 years old now so instead of sinking more money into it, I would buy new.

You could always sell your computer on ebay even with it's defects. You would still get a couple hundred dollars out of it.

KUguardgrl13

macrumors 68020
May 16, 2013
Kansas, USA
Try to buy new or certified refurbished. I also have a mid-2009 (the 2.26ghz 13"), and it was time to replace it this past fall. I was able to give mine some life after a battery replacement, but it sounds like yours has more issues than mine.