Buy rMBP now or wait - also dGPU or not?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Merackon, Feb 21, 2015.

1. Merackon macrumors member

Hello,

I am a Sixth Form student at the moment, and will be going into either architecture or a planning masters in the coming months at University.

My early 2011 baseline model 15" MBP is on its last legs for me, as it was on almost non-stop between 2011 and 2013 when I got myself a high performance desktop. I have upgraded the SSD to an 840 EVO, but have left the RAM at the base 4GB. At the moment, I am experiencing the current issues:

-Vast amounts of lag and performance issues when loading programs and pages in the web (when Safari isn't suffering from the Yosemite issues) which I guess can only be attributed to the shoddy iGPU and dGPU as well as RAM

-Inability to use anything other than Affinity Designer effectively, bear in mind that the work I do is very simple, as even considering doing SolidWorks on this machine at this point is stupid

-UI lag, which I guess is a mix of the issues from Yosemite, RAM and GPU performance

-Battery life...I mean...what battery life (simple thing, yet getting annoying having to carry yet more weight with me to have a usable machine for the 6 hour school day)

Whilst several of these could be mitigated by adding in the additional memory modules, and the battery is a similar scenario, that would come to over £250, for something that is struggling to meet even my most basic needs as it is, let alone in a few months time.

Bear in mind, I can get the student discount of 15% from the Apple online store, so the prices would be £1359 and £1699 respectively for the 2 different tiers of rMBP.

Also, I think in this kind of question, the point that I HAVE NO INTENTION OF GAMING should be mentioned.

In this case, I am met with the following dilemnas:

1. Will the Summer upgrades yield enough performance difference to warrant me literally struggling on using this machine?