Buy rMBP now?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by aburns, Jul 12, 2013.

1. aburns macrumors newbie

Ok so I'm going to start college near the end of August and I need to get a computer. I have decided on the 13" rMBP. I'm an engineering student so I will be running windows 7 too. From what I have seen, Apple isn't likely to update before then so do I give in and buy now? Or is there something I'm missing? Thanks!

2. CristobalHuet macrumors 65816

CristobalHuet

If you can wait it out, I would wait until September. Do you have another laptop you can use in the meantime?

3. aburns thread starter macrumors newbie

No unfortunately I don't. It might be possible to use one of my parent's old laptops but I'm not sure if that's a good idea because I will probably need lots of additional software..

4. Shadow%20Mac macrumors 6502

If you really can't wait a few months, then go but an rMBP. It's an excellent machine and you won't regret it. It will be usable for years.

However, if you can afford to wait a few months, Haswell rMBPs are expected to bring nominal performance gains and big changes to battery life.

5. dazlicous macrumors 6502a

dazlicous

I would deffo wait it out.

HD4000 to Intel 5100 is a pretty decent bump in GFX alone

6. Stetrain macrumors 68040

7. Endomon macrumors newbie

Well, just give it a try first and see if you do indeed need the additional software.

If you're going for the 13", I'd recommend waiting as the current one is quite behind in terms of GPU performance. Hell, it runs the same graphics processor as my 11" MBA. And I'm not running anything near a retina-type display. The next-gen will definitely be a noticeable step-up in terms of graphics performance, something that will be at least more "futureproof".

8. ghoti macrumors member

Personally, I couldn't wait as I need the power before September -- I couldn't be happier with my refurb rMBP 13. :D

9. jxie0755 macrumors member