Buy the 8800GT now or a better card later?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Mercuric Oxide, Jan 9, 2008.

1. Mercuric Oxide macrumors 6502

First off, with the 3-5 week delay, I will most likely start off with a stock Mac Pro model. My questions are:

1. With each Powermac/Mac Pro generation, how often are the graphics cards updated?

2. Assuming there is no overhaul in the design, will new card options always be compatible with the Mac Pro?

3. With the current MP architecture, how future proof is it card wise? Do the latest releases from ATi/Nvidia for PC physically fit inside? Will the current MP most likely support future HDCP complient cards with HDMI?

Sorry, I know there is a lot of hate for gamers here, I just want to say that I am in no way upset with the current MP. I am a college student and the MP will mainly be used for maya, adobe cs3, and for my video game design tech elecs. I just happen to love OSX, will use the MP for college, and would enjoy a video game or two.

Please do not suggest a PC ::gag:: :)

Thanks for reading

2. Grimace macrumors 68040

Grimace

You won't likely see any other options until the next Mac Pro update in 9 months or so. The 8800 card is a great option and one that will last you a very long time.

3. Mercuric Oxide thread starter macrumors 6502

Hmm, I guess I should just get the nvidia in a month when it's readily available then.

Historically, have video card updates a yr down the line been compatible? I guess that's a situation facing the "old" MP users with the 8800 GT..

Thanks

4. timestamp macrumors 6502

I haven't decided what I am going to do yet. I imagine once the orders pour in they will start shipping those things faster. That makes me want to go with the 8800GT since it is only a $160 upgrade.

5. akm3 macrumors 68020

I haven't been around the Mac world that long, but what I've seen of Apple and the Mac Pro, do NOT count on an upgraded video card being available...ever. :)