Phones Buy the Lumia 520 for $50 or less and yes, it can be unlocked

Discussion in 'Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices' started by Lloydbm41, Jan 12, 2014.

  1. Lloydbm41 macrumors 68040

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
    #1
    Well, I went through the process of buying the Nokia Lumia 520 direct from Microsoft (and it came in the same packaging you would find at Walmart or Target or Best Buy) and wanted to use it on any GSM network, so first I tried using an online place that 'claimed' they could get me an unlock code for $6.95. After 3 days of them trying, they claimed it was not possible and refunded me the money.

    Step 2 was to go through AT&T's online 'unlock request' form found here: https://www.att.com/deviceunlock/client/en_US/

    I am in good standing with AT&T, have been with them for over a decade (since the old NEXTEL days), but I no longer have a '2 year commitment' contract with them, since I buy my phones off contract. I requested an unlock code for my 520, figuring what they hell. I have several T-Mobile pay as you go sim cards and want to use my Windows Phone without having to swap out the sim from my Nexus 5. By the way, it says you have to wait 6 months from purchase to request an unlock code. I have only had the phone a few weeks. ;)

    I got the unlock code today. I inserted the T-Mobile sim, turned the phone on and got the prompt to enter my unlock code. **Note: You get 10 tries total. After that, the phone locks to the network and can never be unlocked after that.
    I entered the code properly and boom... now I have a Lumia 520 running on T-Mobiles network. I called *233 and added $15 to my pay as you go plan on T-Mobile. No problems, no fuss. Easy as pie. I don't have LTE where I live, but I do have 4G and I am getting a nice strong signal.

    I suggest that if you want to get off AT&T and go to T-Mobile or another GSM network and hate being 'locked' in to anything, then try requesting an unlock code.
    As you can see from the pics below, I have a good signal, the phone still believes it is a 520 from AT&T, but the 3rd pic shows my active network as T-Mobile.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. burgman macrumors 65816

    burgman

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #2
    To me WiFi calling on the 521 is worth the extra money.
     
  3. Jessica Lares macrumors G3

    Jessica Lares

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Location:
    Near Dallas, Texas, USA
    #3
    Not when it has the T-Mobile logo on it.
     
  4. diamond.g macrumors 603

    diamond.g

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Virginia
    #4
    Eh, it is only an additional 10 bucks on the Microsoft store.
     
  5. burgman macrumors 65816

    burgman

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    #5
    Makes no sense but ok

    My point exactly little more money for a great feature. Did you not understand?
     
  6. bearda macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Location:
    Germantown, MD
    #6
    Strangely enough my 521 doesn't have the T-Mobile logo. I know most of the shots I've seen have the logo on the front bottom, but for some reason none of the ones I've seen in store do.
     
  7. bigjnyc macrumors 601

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #7
    I bought one this weekend at walmart for $59 just to have as an emergency backup phone. I will definitely try this when I get home, if it works for me I will use it as my travel phone.
     
  8. jwynegar macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2014
    #8
    GoPhone?

    Was The Phone In GoPhone Packaging
     
  9. Lloydbm41 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Lloydbm41

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Location:
    Central California
    #9
    Yes.
     
  10. Jibbajabba macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2011
    #10
    In the UK when you buy the phone in a shop offering PAYG phones with any carrier, it will be unlocked automatically and costs next to nothing too. Nice phone in a way, using it as company phone now.
     

Share This Page