Buyer's Remorse - My Options?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ToastyJ, Apr 23, 2011.

1. ToastyJ macrumors newbie

Hello! I am new to both Macs and these forums, so please bear with me.

Like a lot of people out there, I got swept up in the Macbook Pro refresh. Couple that with a failing Windows laptop in the middle of a semester in college and some money to spare and you might be able to see where I'm coming from.

I like to game and with the more recent trend towards companies releasing games that play natively on OSX, I decided that I wanted a Mac for both reliability and entertainment. After convincing myself that I could actually put a high end laptop to good use, I ordered a customized high end 15" MBP. Stats are 2.2ghz i7, 8gb ram, 128gb SSD, high res glossy screen. The computer is superb, I have been enjoying the gaming and I really enjoy using OSX, but I feel that I over-purchased.

It is past the 14 day window that new purchases have, and I am trying to figure out my best course of action as my semester comes to an end. I now feel that I should forgo the heavy laptop gaming in favor of something that I will more realistically use as an undergrad and possibly in law school (word processing, internet, etc.). I rarely use the optical drive or much hard drive space, nor do I ever use the full power of my processor or ram for that matter. I love the SSD and would not buy a laptop without one, though.

Considering all this, I believe the Macbook Air is a better fit. SSD performance, modest processing and video graphics, much more reasonable form factor and easily transported. I will also be using Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop.

Has anyone experienced something similar to me? Should I suck it up and embrace how beastly this laptop is?