Carrier Buying a 64GB iPhone 5s, have questions.

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Yebubbleman, Mar 13, 2015.

  1. Yebubbleman macrumors 68030

    Yebubbleman

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #1
    I'm pretty much convinced that the fifth generation iPod touch will be the final generation. Furthermore, given how sluggishly it performs running iOS 8, I am also pretty much convinced that iOS 9 on it is out of the question (and even if it wasn't [Snow Leopard-esque release or not], it'd run it that much worse).

    Given this, I'm looking to replace my 64GB fifth generation iPod touch with a new 64GB iPhone 5s that I will find new and out of contract. I recognize the steep price and am not thrilled to be paying it, but I have invested way too much in iPhone/iPod touch apps over the years and would like to continue to use them despite that I'm still in my first year of owning a Galaxy S5 (I also don't want to switch to iPhone on a numerical non-S generation).

    Given this, and given the fact that the 64GB 5s is no longer sold by Apple, I'm wondering a couple of things. I'm giving thought to buying a factory unlocked 5s (given that buying a phone locked to my carrier would force me to set up a voice and texting plan [if I could do data only, I'd be peachy]):

    (1) Can I activate the iPhone (i.e. get past the setup assistant and get to a home screen where I can use iOS) without a SIM card or plan selected or does it need cellular service of some kind?

    (2) Does anyone know where I might be able to find the Apple SKU for said iPhone models (the MxxxxxLL/A number)? I figured this will help me find exactly what I'm looking for without buying something used or messed up by a prior user.

    (3) I'm thinking about buying this: http://www.amazon.com/Apple-iPhone-...34801&sr=1-4&keywords=iPhone+5s+64GB+Unlocked might that fit the bill? I'm hoping to also buy AppleCare+ on it.

    Any help is appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. gardiboy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    #2
    1. You must have a SIM card installed to get pass the setup assistant.

    2. You should ensure that the previous owner has DISABLED Find My iPhone, signed OUT of iCloud and wiped out the device before taking ownership.
    Nothing to do with Apple SKU
     
  3. EDH667 macrumors 6502a

    EDH667

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #3
    The Nano-SIM card does not have to be an active SIM. It can be a SIM from a closed account and will work to activate the iPhone. Also, you can find the same iPhone used on SWAPPA or Craigslist in the $300 to $400 range.
     
  4. likethesoup2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2011
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #4
    Just a thought: have you pondered an iPad mini?
     
  5. Yebubbleman thread starter macrumors 68030

    Yebubbleman

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #5
    I'm buying new so I can do AppleCare+. If I'm spending any more than $100 on something that can definitely have issues, I want AppleCare of some kind on it.

    That said, do I have to have a Nano-SIM installed to make the thing usable?

    I have. Only issue is the sheer number of iPhone/iPod touch only apps that would look rather terrible on an iPad of any kind. I'm not a fan of the viewing modes for those apps on the iPad, especially on the mini. Otherwise, I love the iPad mini (and am separately bummed about how lame this past update was).
     
  6. EDH667 macrumors 6502a

    EDH667

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #6
    After activation you do not need to have the Nano-SIM installed but you will get the occasional "no sim installed" nag pop-up.
     
  7. Yebubbleman thread starter macrumors 68030

    Yebubbleman

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #7
    My question is about BEFORE activation. And will I seriously get a "no sim installed" nag even on an unlocked iPhone? Because that's seriously obnoxious.
     
  8. EDH667 macrumors 6502a

    EDH667

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #8
    Yes, when you setup the iPhone for the first time or after an erase it needs a SIM to go through the activation screen, even without service, so you can get to the screen where you can use it. Even on an unlocked iPhone you get the no SIM nag screen. If I remember right it will give you nag screen after you power it down and restart. Just leave an old SIM in and you won't get the pop up.
     

Share This Page